Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
My kids gobbled this up! They call it "Homeade Hamburger Helper", which obviously is waaaaaaaaaaay better than the stuff in the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
We love this recipe. The timing is off on this recipe though. It always takes closer to an hour and a half if not longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
My husband liked this casserole but he had one complaint. The potatoes on the top of the dish where not cooked. I don't understand how the top layer of potatoes where not cooked and the bottoms where.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Ok, but not a redo. Alternated recipe slightly per others recommendations. Used 2 cans of soup (cream of cheddar & mushroom), sauteed beef with onions and garlic together. Added plenty of salt and light cajun seasoning to potatoes. The recipe was still on the bland side. Not worth the effort - hamburger helper is a lot easier and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is a very good, simple and hearty dish. I too found that thinly slicing the potatoes worked well, as well as adding the onions to the meat is order to make cooking go a little more quickly. I used two large baking potatoes, and that was plenty of potato for us. I would recommend adding a little garlic to the beef while it's browning as well. The veggies I put in were shredded carrot and zucchini, but I think I'll try the green bean suggestion the next time I make it-- and there will definitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this recipe was great, but I did tweak it a bit. First of all, I sliced the potatoes (like scalloped) instead of cubed. I only used one onion and stuck with one can of 98 % fat free cream of celery (my husband doesn't like mushrooms) adding milk instead of water. I seasoned the beef as it cooked with the onion and fresh garlic. As I layered the dish, I added swiss cheese, salt, and pepper after each potato layer. My husband is also not a casserole lover, but really did like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Pretty good for a poor-man's-type casserole. I added tomato sauce to the soup for a different taste, and it was ok, but I think I'll leave it out next time. I also added shredded cheddar cheese for the last few minutes of baking, and that added a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was pretty good. Nothing fancy, but it is definitely a hearty meal that almost anyone would like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galien, Michigan, USA
Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
very good, added some flavor to the beef with pepper, seasoning salt and worcestire sauce. I also used 1/2 cup of milk instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I followed the directions but added sour cream to the soup mixture and only half the onion. It was pretty good, my husband and Father-in-Law weren't home for dinner, but ate ALL the leftovers when they got home; they LOVED it! Next time I will make a few changes: cook onion w/ meat (or leave raw, or use minced onion), use 2 lb meat, 8 potatoes, milk instead of water, not so many layers (potato, meat, onion, potato, soup), add mushrooms and chopped bell peppers on top of meat..and maybe put cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States