Jiffy Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was the perfect low budget, midweek meal--perfect for what it is. I could rename it the 'kitchen sink' recipe. I cooked up one organic onion and one pound of grass-fed, humanely raised ground beef. To the pan I added (all veggies are organic) one sort of shriveled, diced red pepper, two stalks of celery and two carrots. I seasoned it with a few bay leaves, garlic powder, lemon pepper, salt and a half glass of red wine from last night. In the greased 9 x 13 pan I cubed 4 large potatoes, 7 tiny white turnips and two small yams—all from my local CSA box. I put the meat/veggie mixture over the potato mixture. I mixed a large can of crm. of mush soup, a few ounces of leftover evaporated milk, a few ounces of leftover beef broth and a half can of creamed corn—all leftovers in the fridge from the past couple of days and poured it over the meat and potatoes. Baked the whole thing for 45 minutes. Yum!!! It made enough for two adults and two teenage boys with plenty of leftovers for our lunches tomorrow. What a way to use leftovers and extend our food budget. Thanks LadyGuin2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was a good and quick recipe. I cooked fresh garlic in with the ground beef and did not cook the onions before putting them into the dish. I also sliced the potatoes lengthwise instead of cubing. I added 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup with no water added to them. Also each layer needs to be salted and peppered. It turned out great, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This turned out really well! I decided to cut down the amount of onion to 1/2 an onion, added 2 16 ounce cans of green beans and 1/2 pound mushrooms (sauteed with the onions). Also used ground turkey instead of beef and thought I'd give golden mushroom soup (2 cans) a try as we're not big fans of cream of mushroom soup. I seasoned the layers with cajun seasoning and baked it at 400 degrees for an hour and 10 minutes. The soup ended up being very much like gravy, and we really enjoyed it. I think it would have been really good just as written, too, and next time plan to use the full amount of onion. Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Thank you for this recipe. I was looking for a way to use up some leftover beef and this worked out great. I did use two cans of soup as others recommended with a little water, and sliced the potatoes very thin. It only took about 45 minutes in the oven. My husband and fil loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This casserole is really good, especially on a cold winter night. I liked it even better heated up the next day for lunch. Mine turned out a bit bland, so I melted a layer of shredded cheddar cheese over the top after it was done. Next time I'll add a lot more pepper and season it up a little bit. I gave it 4 stars, because this recipe takes quite a while to make with all the chopping and the 1 hour cook time. I'm not sure why it's called Jiffy casserole because it was anything but quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very yummy! It reminds me of S.O.S. (us military brats know what that is). I made some changes that really worked out delicious! I cooked 1 large white onion w/ground beef then added 3 dashes of Worschshire sauce, 2 beef boullion cubes,a couple of dashes of season salt and 1/2 cup of water. I mixed the can of soup with a full can of water then I layered as instructed but in a crockpot. I served it with garlic bread. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made to it was that i shredded some velveeta cheese and put it on top along with some mozzarella cheese. It was absolutly delicious. I do not eat onions but the sauted onions in this made the dish. A++++ I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
My husband and I loved it! I added baby carrots and sliced the potatoes. Also threw in some garlic and onion powders and only used one onion. Oh, and since we don't like mushrooms, I used cream of celery-it worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good recipe! I also added some garlic and chedder cheese and used ground turkey instead of beef. I raised the heat to 400 degrees instead of 350 degrees to try and avoid the potato problem and it worked. The potatoes were fully cooked. Big hit with the kids. Everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Next time cook in the 9x13 pan so that all of the potatoes get done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States