Jif® Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
this recipe is so good and easy and i have used many different kinds of jelly/jam/preserves (jam works best)....my boyfriend has requested i make them so much for him and his friends that i almost don't want to make them anymore!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by holyoakwifey24
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
WOW! I used some of my mother's homemade plum jam, and I can't get people to stop requesting for them! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoakwifey24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I love this recipe. I did some changes to it due to availability of ingredients and just to tweak it a bit. I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the shortening. I didn't have any shortening, and the half cup reduction was an error in measurement; 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour & 2 C white APF; and used grape jelly instead. I tried doing it both ways: baking it with and without the jelly. If you intend to eat it right away, you can put jelly after baking, if not, it is better to bake it with the jelly but both looked aesthetically pleasing either way. I tried baking in batches. Baked some for 10 mins and it was ok, light and fluffy; baked some for 11 mins and it was crunchy on the outside, soft and fluffy on the inside. I used my thumb to make a pretty good depression & to avoid letting the dough stick on my thumb, I dipped it on sugar first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
After running out of jelly for the last dozen or so cookies, I used chocolate Nutella to fill the thumbprints. I found I preferred the Nutella to the jelly, but using both of the toppings makes a nice variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These are great, and so pretty! I did make some adjustments though: I used half a cup butter instead of the Crisco, and one-and-a-half cups of peanut butter. I used half teaspoon of salt. They taste wonderful and very peanut-buttery! I will make these again and again, especially for events that require a fancier look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very yummy! I couldn't decide whether to fill the cookies with jam after baking, or follow some of the reviewers' advice and fill them before. The cookies look much better if they are filled after baking (plus you can get more jam in them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wonderful, peanut buttery cookies. I am not a huge fan of just plain peanut butter cookies, but the addition of the sweet jelly makes these cookies so good I couldn't keep from eating a few. I made half a batch that yielded me 32 cookies. I filled 1/2 with blackberry jam (my daughter's favorite) and 1/2 with apricot jam (my favorite). I prefer the apricot because of the tartness in contrast with the sweet cookie. Either way, these are definitely a new family favorite that will be made often and with many different flavors of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These turned out as adverstised. Chewy and full of peanut flavor. I used raspberry and peach jams on top. Peach was not right, but ok. I also used only butter, not shortening. They turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
If ever there was a cookie that turns out EXACTLY as it's supposed to, this is it. I used a 1 T. cookie scoop to measure out the dough, so each was the perfect and perfectly-matched size. The rounded 1/2 tsp. measuring spoon I used to fill the indentations with is the same spoon I used to make the indentations and that worked perfectly, just as the recipe instructed, two minutes out of the oven. I made these using my favorite (Skippy...) peanut butter and, for contrast, used both blackberry and peach preserves. For Peanut Blossom lovers, for classic peanut butter cookie lovers, or for peanut butter and jelly sandwich lovers, this cookie will suit all of you. Delicious and very, very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great cookie! Very rich, well like by all who I shared with! I used Grape Jelly and Strawberry too. I tried it with Strawberry pie filling but it was too heavy, tasted good but they fell apart the next day. I did make them smaller and took them out of the oven a minute or two early to be sure they didnt harden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deca30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States