Jif® Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good and great for little helpers!!! My 6 yr old niece filled them all with strawberry rhubarb jelly. Delicious, I did had a cup of chopped peanuts to make it like crunchy peanut butter cookies, otherwise no changes. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
The peanut butter taste is subtle, which is nice with the jelly so it's not overpowering. Don't change the thing in the recipe - it's perfect the way it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These turned out excellent! I used crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy, which added a little extra crunch to the cookies. I used a 1" cookie scoop for uniform shape and size and rolled the balls in cinnamon sugar! YUM! My family ate them as fast as they cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These cookies floated out a lot more than I thought they would and I was not able to make indentations for jelly. I made them the size directed by the recipe and came out with exactly 5 dozen as the recipe stated. That said, the recipe did make delicious peanut butter cookies! Moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe made a LOT of tasty peanut butter cookies. I finished up with a little over 100 cookies; I was using a 1 inch cookie scoop. Without any filling, these cookies were delicious, light and fluffy, with a mild to moderate peanut butter flavor. They baked up beautifully in both a regular over and a convection oven. However, these cookies are not just plain cookies. They involve jelly, too. That's the part where this recipe falls from five stars to four. Filling the cookie with jam after it has baked yields a weird combination of cooked and uncooked textures. The uncooked jam runs when you bite into the cookie, and makes them impossible to store without making a mess of every cookie in the container. So I did what many reviewers did, I baked the jam in the cookie. If you make the perfect indentation and fill with the perfect amount of jam, these turn out ok (at best). If the indentation is too deep, the jam bakes through the bottom of the cookie and it is difficult to move. If the indentation is too shallow, the jams runs off while baking. Too narrow doesn't allow for enough jam, while too wide causes the cookie to spread like mad. I used both Smucker's Strawberry and Bonne Maman's raspberry jams. So, all in all, this is a good peanut butter cookie base. But I really wanted peanut butter and jelly cookies. I'll keep looking. These could be quite good, but I don't have time for any more experimentation with them. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Theres awsome. Just awsome. Gives you something extra instead of a plain peanut butter cookie (which I love). This was really nice will be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Perfect as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
DO NOT put the jelly in the cookies while cooking, the jelly gets too hot and puts a hole in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and easily got 3 dozen small thumbprint cookies. I used butter instead of shortening and the cookies are plenty sweet without rolling the dough in sugar. I tried three different jams and put them on before baking. Jams that are firmer to begin with work better. If your jam is runny, it will run off the cookie. I tried strawberry, raspberry, and apricot. A very small drop of jam is really all you need - as I said, the cookies are plenty sweet. But, I suppose it depends on how you like your pb&j sandwiches... I've always preferred more pb than j. Just a preference. The kids thought these were fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh my goodness these are so cute and delicious! A different twist on regular ole' peanut butter cookies. This was so fun to make. I used Skippy peanut butter, not Jif and followed the rest of the ingredients and instructions to a "T". I ended up with 40 good size cookies. The baking time was approximate. I took the back of a Tablespoon measuring spoon and used it to make the indentation into the cookies while it was still warm. I filled the center with Strawberry Jam, Guava Jelly and Orange Marmalade. I cooled all the cookies completely. I tell you these did NOT last very long, all were gone in no time! I definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States