Jicama and Pineapple Salad in a Cilantro Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Excellent, excellent. I wouldn't change anything, the dressing is perfect. But I might add a few shrimp - and I did. ;) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was a cool and delicious salad...I made it by the directions with no change...next time I will add more avocado , none the less..an excellent twist on salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
What a great lunch!!! I used about a 1/2 cup of fresh chopped from my garden, cilantro. I used 6 large leaves of basil from my garden. I used 2 pitted jalapenos, and 2 pitted banana peppers, all from my garden. I also used rinsed black beans, and LaChoy Chowmein noodles. Thanks again! will have this at least once a week! Great Recipe!!! jimbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe sounded like it was something right up my alley. I never met a veggie I didn't like and I do like jicama but the combo of these flavors...I don't know what it was, I just really didn't like it. Maybe my pineapple wasn't sweet enough or used too much cilantro...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotinmykitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was AWESOME!!!! I used 1 pepper cuz I'm a wimp & about 1/3 of a "bunch" of cilantro cuz I'm impatient. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. I will definitely make it again. Woops! I forgot to add avacado at the end...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I'm always looking for new salad recipes and this was really different and good. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is so good. I couldn't find Jicama and used an asian pear instead. Perfect substitute for texture and probably better flavor. Will make this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My very favourite salad recipe. The peppers add a nice bite but don't overpower. I've also made it without the peppers when serving to kids. I made them for my son's birthday and a couple of years later, people still mention it! Very light and refreshing.. it's the only time I've seen people going back for second and thirds of the salad instead of the items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuzysMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is one of the best recipes I've taken a chance on. I left out the peppers just because I wasn't looking for spicy this night. Didn't miss it at all! The salad was so crisp and fresh. The sweet and tart together was FABULOUS! Like another reviewer, I sauteed some shrimp to increase the protein. I substituted red wine vinegar for the rice vinegar and halved the recipe. I didn't end up with much "dressing" to drizzle on top so I used a very small amount of balsamic vinaigrette over top of the salad (maybe 1TB, probably a little less). It didn't affect the flavor, just gave it more of a coating. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States