Jicama and Melon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Clean, refreshing and delicious! Make sure to let your salad chill to blend the flavors of the dressing with the mint and fruit. A dash of salt brings out the honeydew like mad. I followed this recipe as written except for the salt and I cut my jicama into stars because I'm the nerd of the herd. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is awesome! I did make a few changes though. I made this as a vegetarian meal and substituted cantelope for the honeydew, added a little extra honey, and added 1/2 cup of strawberries. It was excellent. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this for a cookout and everyone raved about it. Simple, whole ingredients and great taste. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKF60

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Did not care for the mint-fruit combination, would rate it higher without the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Disappointed. I like all of the ingredients by themselves and was excited to prepare jicama, but somehow the assembled dish did not appeal to me. Mint was kind of overpowering, jicama tasted too much like raw potato. The melon was the best part and I think that was due to the salt sprinkle. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The flavors are good, but this takes a lot of work to eat. I will try shredding the jicama next time and cutting the melon into very slim strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I recommend using less lime juice and little or no mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I took the advice of others. I added strawberries, salt, less lime juice, and more honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Burgers with Melon and Jicama Salad

See how to make spicy grilled burgers with a healthy side salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States