Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
A fabulous simple recipe! I couldn't stop eating it! Used more cilantro than the recipe called for because we love it. I found this recipe searching for what to do with the leftover jicama that we used in soft tacos and this is a great way to use it up. Now I will buy jicama on a regular basis and fix it this way. Everyone needs to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was so tasty and so easy to make! It made a great snack during our Memorial Day bbq!It was a refreshing change to the regular fruit bowl! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe to accompany my enchiladas, rice, and beans. It was great! It's always nice to have something fresh (besides salsa) to go along with Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful fresh flavor and totally fat free! I love having it in the refrigerator for a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I like this salad alot! It is super crunchy and uses very little ingredients! The leftovers last and because there is no lettuce - it doesn't wilt. The Jicama does not turn brown after exposed to the air. Very nice and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I was searching for this recipe after eating at a dinner party. My hostess used the same ingredients only she sliced oranges (removed skin an pith) in rounds. Sliced the jicama thin in the same shape as orange and collated them on a platter, sprinkled the cilantro across the top and drizzled the lime juice. Maybe we all didn't find it bland because it offset a very spicy meal. It cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made so many changes to this that I'm not even sure it's fair for me to review it, but here goes! I shredded the jicama, added about a cup of cilantro (I love cilantro), added about 2 or 3 tablespoons of freshly shredded ginger, about 3 tablespoons freshly ground dried ancho chile peppers, two granny smith apples --shredded, and about a half cup of mayo. It was delicious. I have no idea how the original recipe was, but what I made went perfectly with the grilled pork tenderloin that I made. I put this salad (more of a slaw after it was shredded) right on the pork tenderloin sandwiches. OMG. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I add fresh mango to this...very refreshing and hard to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Picked up a jicama at the grocery store because I wanted to try it since I had never tasted it before. This was the only recipe I found that had everything I already had at home. Didn't change a thing and it was delicious! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I would rate this recipe as is a 4 star rating. I make mine a bit different, I like the slice of the jicama, it is pretty, I add the jicama, lime, salt and no pepper, instead I take 2-3 jalapenos halved, seeded and thinly sliced, or fresno chilis are lovily too, and I mix this together, taste to make sure the seasonings are spot on. Now for the cilantro, I do not chop my cilantro, as this bruises the leaves and tends to add too many of the stocks, I take the moment or so to take the leaves off the stock. Right before this is to be served, toss the cilantro in, saving a bit for the top....and to make it pretty and even taster, I like to add some garlic infused olive oil. just a slight drizzle on the top and than sprinkle the remaining cilantro on top. SO refreshing and pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States