Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made so many changes to this that I'm not even sure it's fair for me to review it, but here goes! I shredded the jicama, added about a cup of cilantro (I love cilantro), added about 2 or 3 tablespoons of freshly shredded ginger, about 3 tablespoons freshly ground dried ancho chile peppers, two granny smith apples --shredded, and about a half cup of mayo. It was delicious. I have no idea how the original recipe was, but what I made went perfectly with the grilled pork tenderloin that I made. I put this salad (more of a slaw after it was shredded) right on the pork tenderloin sandwiches. OMG. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I like this salad alot! It is super crunchy and uses very little ingredients! The leftovers last and because there is no lettuce - it doesn't wilt. The Jicama does not turn brown after exposed to the air. Very nice and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wonderful fresh flavor and totally fat free! I love having it in the refrigerator for a healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Hubby said this tasted like crunchy cilantro. I couldn't have said it better myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I love jicama, lime and cilantro. This recipe is fair as is but should go one of two ways: spicy or sweet. For spicy I like other reviewers suggestion to add ground chili and/or garlic. For the sweet option, I drizzled about 3 tablespoons honey on top after tossing everything together. It would probably disperse more thoroughly to mix the lime juice and honey together before adding to the jicama. With the sweet version I will also cut back on the cilantro next time, possibly in half. I would also like to add other fruits to the salad independently - watermelon, mango, strawberries, red grapes. The contrast of the deeper colors would look striking in this salad. Honestly, 2 pounds of jicama makes a really large salad so why not divvy it up and try a couple different versions at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe to accompany my enchiladas, rice, and beans. It was great! It's always nice to have something fresh (besides salsa) to go along with Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
A fabulous simple recipe! I couldn't stop eating it! Used more cilantro than the recipe called for because we love it. I found this recipe searching for what to do with the leftover jicama that we used in soft tacos and this is a great way to use it up. Now I will buy jicama on a regular basis and fix it this way. Everyone needs to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Pretty good but I would add a little spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I was searching for this recipe after eating at a dinner party. My hostess used the same ingredients only she sliced oranges (removed skin an pith) in rounds. Sliced the jicama thin in the same shape as orange and collated them on a platter, sprinkled the cilantro across the top and drizzled the lime juice. Maybe we all didn't find it bland because it offset a very spicy meal. It cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
We enjoyed this. Great side for a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States