Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I would rate this recipe as is a 4 star rating. I make mine a bit different, I like the slice of the jicama, it is pretty, I add the jicama, lime, salt and no pepper, instead I take 2-3 jalapenos halved, seeded and thinly sliced, or fresno chilis are lovily too, and I mix this together, taste to make sure the seasonings are spot on. Now for the cilantro, I do not chop my cilantro, as this bruises the leaves and tends to add too many of the stocks, I take the moment or so to take the leaves off the stock. Right before this is to be served, toss the cilantro in, saving a bit for the top....and to make it pretty and even taster, I like to add some garlic infused olive oil. just a slight drizzle on the top and than sprinkle the remaining cilantro on top. SO refreshing and pretty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Picked up a jicama at the grocery store because I wanted to try it since I had never tasted it before. This was the only recipe I found that had everything I already had at home. Didn't change a thing and it was delicious! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I add fresh mango to this...very refreshing and hard to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made so many changes to this that I'm not even sure it's fair for me to review it, but here goes! I shredded the jicama, added about a cup of cilantro (I love cilantro), added about 2 or 3 tablespoons of freshly shredded ginger, about 3 tablespoons freshly ground dried ancho chile peppers, two granny smith apples --shredded, and about a half cup of mayo. It was delicious. I have no idea how the original recipe was, but what I made went perfectly with the grilled pork tenderloin that I made. I put this salad (more of a slaw after it was shredded) right on the pork tenderloin sandwiches. OMG. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I was searching for this recipe after eating at a dinner party. My hostess used the same ingredients only she sliced oranges (removed skin an pith) in rounds. Sliced the jicama thin in the same shape as orange and collated them on a platter, sprinkled the cilantro across the top and drizzled the lime juice. Maybe we all didn't find it bland because it offset a very spicy meal. It cool and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Good side dish to serve with other Mexican food. It was a little boring for me though, that's why I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious and so refreshing! I didn't change a thing. It went fabulous with the enchiladas I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Unless you REALLY like cilantro, it will overpower this recipe. I used 1/2 of what it called for. I also added a large can of mandarin oranges (cut in half) and added about 1/4 cup of the mandarine orange juice instead of the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Hubby said this tasted like crunchy cilantro. I couldn't have said it better myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I like this salad alot! It is super crunchy and uses very little ingredients! The leftovers last and because there is no lettuce - it doesn't wilt. The Jicama does not turn brown after exposed to the air. Very nice and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States