Jicama Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this for a quilt retreat and everyone thought it was wonderful. I did add a can of black beans, jalapeno and cumin. Would definitely make again. the girls particularly like the crunch of the jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was so delicious. I halved the recipe, added a chopped red bell pepper for color, a little red wine vinegar to the red onions to mellow them and a tablespoon of Rooster Sriracha Sauce (organic from Whole Foods) to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
9-22-11: Too much lime juice. Probably my error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I'm not a fan of mango, so I removed it and added a fresh jalapeno diced up! It turned out so yummy! It was the first time I had jicama this way and my boyfriend loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wonderful. I added sweet red pepper and black beans - for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I don't know if my jicama wasn't ripe or the mango wasn't ripe but whatever it was my husband and I did not like this. The taste was so so but the textures are what bothered us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S LaVigne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I had eaten Jicama before but never new what to do with it. I love this recipe. I Julianne the Jicama rather than chopped it. Next time I think I will chop it, and make all of the piece about the same size. Great if you are watching your calories 2 cups of this stuff is worth 156 calories. NOT bad and GOOD. You can also add spices to your serving such as cumin or a hot pepper to spice it up. Almost like a salsa, but it never gets juicy. Keeps well in the refrigerate, stays nice a crunch. An inexpensive dish to make and feeds alot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffewoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Good though I was unable to use the main ingredient of Jicama. To follow the recipe makes a HUGE amount of food, would recommend cutting it in half for parties under 10 where other items are to be served. Definately more of a salsa type dish best with corn chips or the like but very fresh and crisp for summer gatherings. I very much wanted to throw in a jalapeno but they are of course not available right now. I think a ripe avacado and some black beans could serve as a substitue for the Jicama here if you, like me, do not have it available in your area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have to agree with previous reviewers. Without a little heat, it's so-so. After adding a jalapeno (finely diced) it was a 5-star, make-again recipe. We made this to go along with Cuban Pork Roast I from this site, and liked the combination. Then, leftovers! Even better the following days. This salad kept surprisingly well. I expected the mangos to get icky after a day, but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was a really good salad. I think a little jalapeno would be and excellent addition. It was crunchy, and very tasty. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DL

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States