Jicama Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this for a quilt retreat and everyone thought it was wonderful. I did add a can of black beans, jalapeno and cumin. Would definitely make again. the girls particularly like the crunch of the jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was so delicious. I halved the recipe, added a chopped red bell pepper for color, a little red wine vinegar to the red onions to mellow them and a tablespoon of Rooster Sriracha Sauce (organic from Whole Foods) to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
9-22-11: Too much lime juice. Probably my error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I'm not a fan of mango, so I removed it and added a fresh jalapeno diced up! It turned out so yummy! It was the first time I had jicama this way and my boyfriend loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wonderful. I added sweet red pepper and black beans - for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I don't know if my jicama wasn't ripe or the mango wasn't ripe but whatever it was my husband and I did not like this. The taste was so so but the textures are what bothered us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S LaVigne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I had eaten Jicama before but never new what to do with it. I love this recipe. I Julianne the Jicama rather than chopped it. Next time I think I will chop it, and make all of the piece about the same size. Great if you are watching your calories 2 cups of this stuff is worth 156 calories. NOT bad and GOOD. You can also add spices to your serving such as cumin or a hot pepper to spice it up. Almost like a salsa, but it never gets juicy. Keeps well in the refrigerate, stays nice a crunch. An inexpensive dish to make and feeds alot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffewoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Good though I was unable to use the main ingredient of Jicama. To follow the recipe makes a HUGE amount of food, would recommend cutting it in half for parties under 10 where other items are to be served. Definately more of a salsa type dish best with corn chips or the like but very fresh and crisp for summer gatherings. I very much wanted to throw in a jalapeno but they are of course not available right now. I think a ripe avacado and some black beans could serve as a substitue for the Jicama here if you, like me, do not have it available in your area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I have to agree with previous reviewers. Without a little heat, it's so-so. After adding a jalapeno (finely diced) it was a 5-star, make-again recipe. We made this to go along with Cuban Pork Roast I from this site, and liked the combination. Then, leftovers! Even better the following days. This salad kept surprisingly well. I expected the mangos to get icky after a day, but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was a really good salad. I think a little jalapeno would be and excellent addition. It was crunchy, and very tasty. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DL

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States