Jicama, Carrot, and Green Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I like how light and healthy this salad is. For me it didn't have enough flavor so I added a lot more cilantro, lime juice and tossed in peanuts. I will make this again as a light lunch with my additions and some grilled chicken. This is a very big salad, more than 8 servings. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I loved this recipe. I omitted the radish and only had one green apple so I used two pears. Added more lime juice. Rather than grate the ingredients, I just chopped them and it worked out just fine. Definitely a way to clean out the fridge and make a great salad at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
We enjoyed this refreshing slaw. It's best with plenty of salt and pepper. I also doubled the dressing. I think raisins or dried cranberries would add a lot, because the texture is a little monotonous. I'm not sure I'd make this again unless I had ingredients I needed to use up, but all in all not a bad little salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Refreshing, nutritious crunchy salad that compliments any meal. The orange and lime marinade top it off. I used lemon and the results were outstanding. Highly recommended. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Everyone I've made this for has really liked it. I'm surprised to see people call it "bland" because when I've made it, it has been anything but. I don't know if it's a difference in ingredient or what. I always use herbs fresh out of my garden and local produce. We do tend to eat this on fish tacos or pulled pork sandwiches rather than by itself, so that could be part of the issue. I have experimented with this quite a bit and have found that the addition of more herbs, red wine vinegar, finely shredded sweet walla walla onion, lemon olive oil, an orange (with the juice) and a bit of sugar improve the flavor. I tend to make stuff from whatever I have on hand and this recipe was the result of needing to clean out my veggie drawer. I'm sure you can sub in just about any vegetable (broccoli slaw would be great here, as would pineapple or mango.. and chili peppers to give it a spicy kick) and I recommend upping the amount of cilantro. There should be a balance between acidic, sweet, sour, salty and spicy. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I also thought this was just ok. I'm not sure it was quite worth the effort - a little bland. I think it is missing something, maybe chopped red onion would liven it up a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This had to be the most GOSH AWFUL salad I've ever locked my lips around !!! I was SOOOOO looking forward to a salad with jicama and different herbs. Even with the suggestions, I had to spit it out and toss it away -- and I've been known to eat some crappy tasting stuff. This ranks worse than octopus soup or menudo. BLECH !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pianistgail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I thought this recipe was OK, others in my family were more like, "I'll eat it." Mostly it seemed like more trouble than it was worth, what with all that grating...It is better the second day than the first. It didn't have a bad flavor, but just didn't do much for me or my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This salad on it's own is ok, but i put it on a spice crusted fish sandwich and it was really good. the recipe made WAY to much for my husband and I so we're going to try freezing some to use on future fish sandwiches. To make the fish sandwich I used cod fillets (tilapia works well too) covered it in flour, then dipped in egg and then dipped in panko with seasoning and then cooked in a pan w oil. I used focacia for the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Great slaw! Didn't have Jicama or cabbage so I shredded some cucumber and celery. Also... I cheated and added mayo.... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States