Jicama Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is a common way to serve jicama in Mexico. If you have a Mexican section in your supermarket, try to find a seasoning in a shaker bottle called "tajin" that combines lime, salt and chiles. It is used for everything here, and is what I use to sprinkle on jicama. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Fabuloso! I used to eat this all the time when I was a student in Mexico. You can use lemon juice if you don't have fresh lime juice, although lime is better to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great for adding fiber to your diet. In many areas of Central and Southern Mexico you'll find this as a traditional restaurant mainstay, served at the table like the bread basket when you first sit down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I have been eating Jicama like this for years. This is the normal in Mexico. You have to like lime or you won't like this. It does have a lot of flavor and people who do not like anything spicie probably won't like it. If you like your food bland then this is not for you. I personally love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This didn't do it for us, so we poured rice wine vinegar over it and added salt, and that was better. I think there's not enough lime juice called for here, probably because the size of "1 jicama" can vary a lot; you may need to adjust on the fly. For our tastes this required the addition of salt. (Note: I added a cucumber and doubled the recipe, but left the chili powder measurement the same, due to the color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My jicama was on the small side, so I only used one tablepoon of chili powder. Also, before I juiced the limes, I zested them and threw the zest in as well. I thought this tasted a little flat, so I added a sprinkling of garlic powder, some kosher salt and a good grinding of pepper. I probably ended up using more than 2 tablespoons of lime juice, I just squeezed two limes over the jicama. I was quite pleased with the end result and I'm taking these to work to snack on. Thanks so much for the post, BECCAS911!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I wasn't thrilled with this at first, as was used to jicama tasting sweet, but it grew on me. The next day it was even better... and now I am a big fan! Thanks for introducing me to this new idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is yummy. The only thing I add is a sprinkling of kosher salt. I always have jicama in the fridge now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I did not like this very much, but I was happy to have tried jicama. Now my experience with it will give me a better idea of what to do with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
this is one of my favorite recipes just because it is so easy and so refreshing. I love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States