Jicama Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is a common way to serve jicama in Mexico. If you have a Mexican section in your supermarket, try to find a seasoning in a shaker bottle called "tajin" that combines lime, salt and chiles. It is used for everything here, and is what I use to sprinkle on jicama. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Fabuloso! I used to eat this all the time when I was a student in Mexico. You can use lemon juice if you don't have fresh lime juice, although lime is better to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great for adding fiber to your diet. In many areas of Central and Southern Mexico you'll find this as a traditional restaurant mainstay, served at the table like the bread basket when you first sit down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I have been eating Jicama like this for years. This is the normal in Mexico. You have to like lime or you won't like this. It does have a lot of flavor and people who do not like anything spicie probably won't like it. If you like your food bland then this is not for you. I personally love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This didn't do it for us, so we poured rice wine vinegar over it and added salt, and that was better. I think there's not enough lime juice called for here, probably because the size of "1 jicama" can vary a lot; you may need to adjust on the fly. For our tastes this required the addition of salt. (Note: I added a cucumber and doubled the recipe, but left the chili powder measurement the same, due to the color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My jicama was on the small side, so I only used one tablepoon of chili powder. Also, before I juiced the limes, I zested them and threw the zest in as well. I thought this tasted a little flat, so I added a sprinkling of garlic powder, some kosher salt and a good grinding of pepper. I probably ended up using more than 2 tablespoons of lime juice, I just squeezed two limes over the jicama. I was quite pleased with the end result and I'm taking these to work to snack on. Thanks so much for the post, BECCAS911!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I wasn't thrilled with this at first, as was used to jicama tasting sweet, but it grew on me. The next day it was even better... and now I am a big fan! Thanks for introducing me to this new idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is yummy. The only thing I add is a sprinkling of kosher salt. I always have jicama in the fridge now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I did not like this very much, but I was happy to have tried jicama. Now my experience with it will give me a better idea of what to do with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
this is one of my favorite recipes just because it is so easy and so refreshing. I love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States