Jicama Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Simple, easy, refreshing. A great thing to put out there with the guac, salsa, and chips. I used bottled lime juice (shhhhh), but people thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Jicama is a very unusual root to me, but as I was looking for new and unusual things to try, I made this recipe. This was very easy to do and very hydrating and healthy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
So easy and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I tried jicama for the first time..... won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This didn't do it for us, so we poured rice wine vinegar over it and added salt, and that was better. I think there's not enough lime juice called for here, probably because the size of "1 jicama" can vary a lot; you may need to adjust on the fly. For our tastes this required the addition of salt. (Note: I added a cucumber and doubled the recipe, but left the chili powder measurement the same, due to the color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
May be just my tastebuds but I really didn't like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
i have been eating jicama like this for years. By far one of my favorite appetizers. enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is really good. When I lived in Mexico, I also had it on coconut pieces. I liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is a common way to serve jicama in Mexico. If you have a Mexican section in your supermarket, try to find a seasoning in a shaker bottle called "tajin" that combines lime, salt and chiles. It is used for everything here, and is what I use to sprinkle on jicama. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico

Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States