Jicama Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I've at Jicama like this since I was a child. To add some sweetness to the recipe, cut some pears into it! I promise you won't be disappointed!! Continue with the Chile and lime! Healthy, light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I have tried this recipe & it is delicious!! It just has that freshness & crunch about it that makes you want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Very easy, refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is delicious, nutritious (very high in Vit. C), very low calorie, and so easy! Love the crunch. I've used just cayenne pepper before but chili powder is much better. To get the jicama completely covered with lime juice I put it in a container with a sealable top, add the juice, cover and shake. I didn't measure but did use more than 2 T lime juice. Then I put it on a serving plate and sprinkle with the chili powder. Any leftovers stay fresh in the fridge for quick snacks, and to add smaller pieces to a salad for a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
cumin is much better than chili pwdr on jicama. Did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have never worked with jicama before and it showed. I wanted this as a go-to snack in the fridge and it didn't work well for me. I think it still could be a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Sorry, I don't like giving negative reviews, but just thought I'd share. I love jicama, but this just tasted "tinny." I followed this as written, and just didn't care for the taste. I'll dip my jicama in ranch dressing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Made this for our 3rd Annual Strange and Unique Foods Party and it was well liked as a vegetarian option. Someone told me it kind of tastes like sugar snap peas, and it does
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was my first time buying jicama. I actually had some in Mexico once but didn't know that is what I was eating. I enjoyed this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My jicama was on the small side, so I only used one tablepoon of chili powder. Also, before I juiced the limes, I zested them and threw the zest in as well. I thought this tasted a little flat, so I added a sprinkling of garlic powder, some kosher salt and a good grinding of pepper. I probably ended up using more than 2 tablespoons of lime juice, I just squeezed two limes over the jicama. I was quite pleased with the end result and I'm taking these to work to snack on. Thanks so much for the post, BECCAS911!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States