Jibarito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I loved it! I skipped the lettuce, tomato, and mayo. I made sure the steak and onions were well browned. Only thing it needed was salt. I was skeptical about the american cheese but the way it melted really made it good and makes it preferable to other types of cheese. I used flat iron steak instead of skirt and it was perfect. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
these are the best. spread with mayo, ketchup and garlic mixed together to make a sauce. and its yummmmyyy : p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Rachel made this for me and it was fantastic. It was her first time making Puerto Rican food and I was impressed. I hope she makes it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I tried something similar in Santiago de Cuba once, is a very traditional thing to use green plantain in most parts of the caribbean. I recommend to use the not very-green plantains (but not overripe plantains either), as the way they are used in Mexico not in Cuba, because this way are a little bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was so excellent. A friend from my husbands work suggested we make these. Glad we did. Our 4 and 5 years even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These are excellent! Doubled the recipe and have done these twice in the past 2 weeks. First as written, the second time as the "Sandwich King" on Food Network does it: with ham, cheese, lettuce, tomato and a zesty garlic mayo (I also added avocado slices). The use of the plantains instead of bread is so versatile and I will try this with many more sandwich combinations (I'm thinking Cubano and BLT). This one is truly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Soooo yummy!!! I mixed the mayo with equal amounts of ketchup and spread it on the plantain, it gives it so much more flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made these with seasoned shredded chicken, white american cheese and guacamole. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I don't get it....I did not like this at all. The parts of the dish don't blend well. I also thought the directions were lacking at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKelly
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Ummm, pretty good but didn't love 'em. I skipped the cheese and added avocado. It tasted like it needed a little extra kick, maybe some more salt&garlic? I'll try them again, or maybe just stick to the steak with a side of tostones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAZMINELOAIZA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States