Jezebel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
My family has been making Jezebel sauce for longer than I can remember and it has Always been a huge hit. I had to substitute the pineapple preserves for peach because my store only had sugar-free...it turned out So Yummy! I spread the cream cheese in a Christmas tree shaped platter ad drizzled the sauce like garland..looked cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I use a can of cranberry sauce with cranberries in place of the apple jelly, and reduce the horseradish to 4-5 oz, and use this as my ham glaze for the holidays. It is a hit!! This is also good with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
As others have noted, way, way too much horseradish. I (silly me) put the whole honkin' jar of the stuff in without slowly tasting it as I went along and pretty much destroyed the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Made this for a friends baby shower, it turned out great! I can't get pineapple preserves here so I used a can of crushed pineapple... I didn't get enough liquid drained out of it, so it was a little too juicy for my taste....also I used an entire can of crushed pineapple and an entire jar of apple jelly and only 4 oz of horseradish and it was a little too spicy for some of the people at the shower. Over all this is a fantastic Recipe and it will be on my list of party foods forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My mom always made this on holidays when we had ham. It made a dinner tradition that I continue. I love it and so does one Brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was so good. Spicy though. I have family who are not blessed with the cast iron stomach I have. So maybe a lil less on the horseradish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We just didn't care for the flavor; it was okay, but wouldn't make again. Try it and see what you think; it makes a lot; we might have odd tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
We did not enjoy this one at all! I only used 1/4 or 1/2 of the horseradish but it completely overwhelmed the flavors of the jelly and preserves. It was very hot too. We tried it over cream cheese with crackers but it was still unbearably strong. Very disappointing and a waste of lots of jelly. Only make this one if you know that you really, really love horseradish, or start out with only a couple tablespoons of horseradish and taste it before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is great! Sweet and spicy hot!! Will certainly cure what ails you! It makes your eyes water and your nose run. The only thing I did differently was to gently heat everything together before refrigerating before use. A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! Years ago I worked at Shoney's in Nashville. They had a Hawaiian chicken dinner on the menu that had this sauce over it. We would buy it from Shoney's to have at home with our chicken! Sooooooo stinkin' good! This has to be the closest thing to their sauce! I've been making this for ages now and it is fabulous! Great over cream cheese served with crackers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States