Jezebel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Ooh, this is hot. If you think that the fruit spreads will mask the horseradish, I have a bridge you might be interested in buying. I'm not particularly fond of horseradish, but my Dad is, and he looves this, especially with the cream cheese. This recipe also makes an incredible amount, filling a 28 ounce spaghetti sauce jar to the top. Easy storage! This might stick around till next Christmas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I've been making a variation of this for years. My recipe calls for 1/4 cup of dry mustard and only 5 oz. of horseradish and it has quite a bite so I wouldn't use the 8 oz. of horseradish called for in this recipe unless you want it VERY hot. Update: Try this as a sauce with pork tenderloin or roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I served this at a Thanksgiving gathering and everyone raved over it. I absolutely love this recipe. It is SO simple to prepare. I found all of the ingredients with no problem at my local Kroger. VERY easy and VERY delicious. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Yum, yum, yum! I made this for a meeting and I brought celery as well as crackers. Not many people were willing to try it because I didn't make it look very appetizing (had it in plastic containers) but the few who did raved about it. Great combination and the suggestion about adding Chinese hot mustard instead of Dijon sounds like it would be good too if you like more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
My husband was nervous about me making this for our party. Ended up being his favorite thing! I eased up on the horseradish a bit - Excellent! It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Made too much. Easily cut recipe in half for 10-person appetizer (1/2 could cover two cream cheeses).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is also delicious as a dipping sauce for broiled scallops wrapped with bacon. I adjusted the recipe slightly by using 3/4 cup horseradish, 2 T. Dijon mustard, ad 2 T. lemon juice. As other reviewers have pointed out, it makes a lot of sauce, but if you get creative, you can find lots of uses or it! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is, most often, a happy suprise to anyone who tries it! Pineapple preserves are hard to find, but I took the suggestion of other reviewers, and used pineapple ice cream topping. However, I did find that the topping was more liquid than most preserves, and adjusted accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I love it over cream cheese with Ritz crackers! Most people are surprised at the wonderful taste and surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I have been making Jezebel sauce for years and love it with pork tenderloin or over cream cheese. However, this recipe calls for twice as much as I normally use...I would recommend using 4oz instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Chef John's Tonnato Sauce

Creamy sauce or dip made from tuna and anchovy fillets.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States