Jezebel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I have made this recipe for years. Everyone just loves it. I pour the sauce over softened cream cheese then just spread on crackers. I keeps forever in refrig. You can also use Pepper Jelly in place of Apple and Appricot preserves instead of Pinapple. Almost any combination is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was a great addition to a wedding reception! Had a hard time finding pineapple preservers so substituted apricot pineapple jam and it worked fine! You may want to halve this recipe because it makes a ton -- I had enough sauce for 2 plates of spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Ooh, this is hot. If you think that the fruit spreads will mask the horseradish, I have a bridge you might be interested in buying. I'm not particularly fond of horseradish, but my Dad is, and he looves this, especially with the cream cheese. This recipe also makes an incredible amount, filling a 28 ounce spaghetti sauce jar to the top. Easy storage! This might stick around till next Christmas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I've been making a variation of this for years. My recipe calls for 1/4 cup of dry mustard and only 5 oz. of horseradish and it has quite a bite so I wouldn't use the 8 oz. of horseradish called for in this recipe unless you want it VERY hot. Update: Try this as a sauce with pork tenderloin or roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Made too much. Easily cut recipe in half for 10-person appetizer (1/2 could cover two cream cheeses).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
I served this at a Thanksgiving gathering and everyone raved over it. I absolutely love this recipe. It is SO simple to prepare. I found all of the ingredients with no problem at my local Kroger. VERY easy and VERY delicious. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
My husband was nervous about me making this for our party. Ended up being his favorite thing! I eased up on the horseradish a bit - Excellent! It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I served this at a party and the reviews were mixed-I liked it personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is also delicious as a dipping sauce for broiled scallops wrapped with bacon. I adjusted the recipe slightly by using 3/4 cup horseradish, 2 T. Dijon mustard, ad 2 T. lemon juice. As other reviewers have pointed out, it makes a lot of sauce, but if you get creative, you can find lots of uses or it! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Yum, yum, yum! I made this for a meeting and I brought celery as well as crackers. Not many people were willing to try it because I didn't make it look very appetizing (had it in plastic containers) but the few who did raved about it. Great combination and the suggestion about adding Chinese hot mustard instead of Dijon sounds like it would be good too if you like more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States