Jezebel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I love it over cream cheese with Ritz crackers! Most people are surprised at the wonderful taste and surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is, most often, a happy suprise to anyone who tries it! Pineapple preserves are hard to find, but I took the suggestion of other reviewers, and used pineapple ice cream topping. However, I did find that the topping was more liquid than most preserves, and adjusted accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is similar to a sauce I make to put over cream cheese that uses apricot and pineapple preserves, hot pepper sauce and crushed red peppers. It's very festive looking with the red pepper flakes glistening like small red jewels in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I admit, I was really nervous putting all that horseradish in this recipe - so I probably used 3/4 of what recipe called for. As others have noted, it does make a LOT - so I would halve the recipe next time. It was a big hit with my guests - do make sure to let it sit overnight for the flavors to 'meld.' Will definitely serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This is tasty stuff. A local deli here in Charlotte (NC) serves this on their "Turkey Jezebel" sandwich-- mmmm! Very good as a spread with turkey, swiss or provolone, on some good deli bread. Definitely a little strange, but highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This is a yummy dip! I used half the suggested amount of horseradish and it is still has a good amount of heat. If you are having trouble finding pineapple preserves, check the ice cream topping isle in your grocery store. That is where I found pineapple topping/jam that works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Had dinner guest last night and they went crazy over this, I served it over cream cheese and had an assortment of crackers to go with it. I forgot that it is suppose to be made 8 hrs before serving but made it anyway, about 2 hrs before serving and very good. It's Mothers Day today and we have a family get together I'm taking some to serve as a spread for Ham. It is a strange mix but well worth the surprise taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
great as a sauce over ribs also...a new favorite for snacks and appitizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is definetly different! I will make again, but with theses changes. First off cut this recipe in 1/2! I mixed it in with the cream cheese (as opposed to drizzling over) and started with 2oz of horseradish, I also added minced sweet red peppers for texture and color. I made it the night before to let all the flavors come together and served with tortilla chips, all of my guests raved about this and it was gone in a hour. I think next time I will add a tbsp of strawberry preserves for a different flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Yum, yum, yum! I made this for a meeting and I brought celery as well as crackers. Not many people were willing to try it because I didn't make it look very appetizing (had it in plastic containers) but the few who did raved about it. Great combination and the suggestion about adding Chinese hot mustard instead of Dijon sounds like it would be good too if you like more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States