Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
AMAZING!!!! I did do some things different. I let it come to a boil then I put into a baking dish with a lid and put it into the oven at 325 degrees for 2 1/2 hours. I also added Lipton onion soup mix on top and instead of white vinegar I used apple cider vinegar. I also added carrots. It came out delicious, and I will be making this again and again! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pressurecook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Simple, delicious, made it as the recipe was posted. Note: A cast iron dutch oven + the vinegar in the recipe can cause the meat to have an "off" taste. This is better suited for a ceramic slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pressurecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I enjoyed this quite a bit. I'm a tough scorer, so 3 stars for me is pretty good. I don't understand the sitting in the fridge overnight though. In theory it must be to absorb more flavor, but I found it to be opposite. It tasted better to me fresh off the stove than refrigerated till the next day. I made a large enough brisket were it lasted 3 days for leftovers (I'm the only meat eater in the house besides my dogs LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the best brisket recipe I have made it came out perfect . I froze the leftovers when I used it for suprise guest everone raved and thought i had just made it . I wouldn"t change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pine Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought this recipe was excellent. I followed it exactly, except that my brisket was 6lbs, so I added a little more water to the pot. I used homemade spicy ketchup, and raw apple cider vinegar. It was perfectly seasoned, and very tender. Thanks for a great recipe! I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I bought an 8 pound brisket & cut it in half. This gave me a chance to try the recipe twice & have plenty of leftovers as most said that was the only draw back... not enough left over. Both briskets turned out super and I know this is going to be made again & again. Thanks for sharing!!!! Amazingly easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was wonderful. The only changes I made were that I added the onion and garlic while I was browning the meat. I also used chili sauce instead of ketchup. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and it is a keeper. It was easy to prepare and it came out tender with plenty of flavor. I did add and extra clove or two of garlic as we love garlic. The leftovers will definately be used! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Fabulous! I made it in a pressure cooker and it took about an hour. When I took my first bite it made my mouth sing! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Dear god. I'm not much of a chef, but this was the best thing in the world. Simmered that for probably 3.5 hours, and the 8 people at our super Jewish Seder party loved the hell out of it. Such a simple recipe and so amazing. Totally making this again pretty much every five minutes for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHEN_SLUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States