Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wow! This was AMAZING! I am getting hungry just thinking about it while I post my rating. Aside from the minor prep work, there really wasn't much to do, a big plus for me. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe. The brisket was so tender and flavorful and with the gravy it was just melt in your mouth good. I followed the recipe as written except for storing in the fridge. We will have leftovers so I will be making meal sized portions to freeze for lunches at a later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmberman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
WOW!! I know everybody loves this one so here are the tweaks I made. I cooked a 3 1.4 lb. brisket for 3 hours then I put it into the fridge (always better the second night). When ready, I removed all the fat, moved the brisket to the cutting board, added 2 tbsp butter to he sauce began reducing. While the sauce reduced to half, I sliced the brisket across the grain. When the sauce was reduced, I added the sliced meat back to warm. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this for a commencement celebration and EVERYONE loves it; many asked for the recipe. It's delicious. It's also very easy to make, but be sure to remove the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Although I was skeptical at first about the idea of sweet and sour flavors in brisket, I made this and took it to a Chanukah dinner. Jews and gentiles alike loved this dish! A couple of minor deviations. First, I started with a corned beef brisket (all I could get on short notice). After boiling, I removed the brisket from the boiling liquid, sliced, and placed in a dish with cooking liquid to cover. I then refrigerated for only an hour before the party and re-heated in the oven until boiling again. I served it with some of the cooking liquid thickened with cornstarch to make a "gravy". Delicious! I will make this again, certainly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This brisket was out of this world. My boyfriend is Jewish and grew up eating brisket, but I am not super familiar with Kosher cooking. I gave this a try and WOW! It was so delicious and tender. I'm sure I'll be making this again... only next time, I will try making my own corned beef first out of London Broil, or perhaps another cheap piece of meat. Can't wait, and will update!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Didn't change a thing from this recipe. I did however brown on the grill rathar than in the pot. (personal preference). I even upsized the amounts and it came out perfect. Ive been trying to find the perfect brisket recipe for years and this is it. Now will be a family favorite forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMOSKOWITZ
Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The best brisket I ever made but I used 6 onions instead 2 and didn't use any water. The onions have plenty of water and 4lbs serve 6 instead of 10. Helene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This is my go to for the Jewish holidays! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe except I added a little bit extra vinegar. I found the beef to be too sweet and too tough. I had to cook it for much longer than the recipe called for. If I make this again, I would definably cut back on the brown sugar. It was almost like eating candied meat, the more I ate, the sweeter it got. My family echoed my comments about the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States