Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought this recipe was excellent. I followed it exactly, except that my brisket was 6lbs, so I added a little more water to the pot. I used homemade spicy ketchup, and raw apple cider vinegar. It was perfectly seasoned, and very tender. Thanks for a great recipe! I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and a great treat for the taste buds. We had a small passover this year and I decided last minute to go with brisket for main course. Not a scrap left on the platter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was wonderful. The only changes I made were that I added the onion and garlic while I was browning the meat. I also used chili sauce instead of ketchup. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My Husband loved this recipe. He never eats leftovers, but he did this one. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the best brisket recipe I have made it came out perfect . I froze the leftovers when I used it for suprise guest everone raved and thought i had just made it . I wouldn"t change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pine Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was unbelieveable! I made this tonight and it was a hit! I can't wait until tomorrow so I can have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I bought an 8 pound brisket & cut it in half. This gave me a chance to try the recipe twice & have plenty of leftovers as most said that was the only draw back... not enough left over. Both briskets turned out super and I know this is going to be made again & again. Thanks for sharing!!!! Amazingly easy to make. I made exactly as the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pressurecook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Simple, delicious, made it as the recipe was posted. Note: A cast iron dutch oven + the vinegar in the recipe can cause the meat to have an "off" taste. This is better suited for a ceramic slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pressurecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
WOW!!! So simple & so good. My husband compared it to the best restaurant in town and he's picky. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Served this at Passover and it was a hit. Very tasty. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States