Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe except I added a little bit extra vinegar. I found the beef to be too sweet and too tough. I had to cook it for much longer than the recipe called for. If I make this again, I would definably cut back on the brown sugar. It was almost like eating candied meat, the more I ate, the sweeter it got. My family echoed my comments about the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Please, please do not drop the salt to 1 tsp. This is MY recipe and if 55 people gave it 5 stars and it was not too salty for them, my guess is that you bought the wrong brisket. You CAN NOT buy the corned beef that comes with the spices - you MUST buy fresh, 1st cut brisket from the butcher. This recipe can be made the same with up to 6+ pounds of brisket with no additional seasoning if you wish. I made 3 huge briskets for the holiday and had only a morsel left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
The recipe is solid. The meat turned out tender and the sauce was balanced with its various flavors. The reason I give it one star is hopefully due to a typographical error. To add 1 tablespoon of salt for any recipe you better be making pickles or serving 20. This was almost inedible as written. The salt quotient was so high that we had to mitigate the leftovers with plain tomatoes to make it even remotely edible. Anyone attempting this recipe should reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon and adjust at the close of the dish as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My first brisket for Passover. Everyone loved it. I didn't slice onions small enough so I put them in a blender at the end to purée a lot of them. If possible cook in advance so slices can sit in juice overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was excellent!!! Many years ago I cooked a few meals for our local synagogue gatherings. One meal was a kind of sweet and sour brisket. The brisket meat came from a famed kosher butcher shop in NYC. Along with the meat came a suggested recipe. Recently when I bought a brisk, I was trying to remember how I made that brisket. Finally I gave up and came here for ideas and found this recipe. Can't say it's the same recipe but the results were the same.....an outragious tasty piece of meat. The only very minor change I made was using more fresh garlic. Aside from that followed the recipe to the letter. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE Louise!!!! EDIT: I had made corned beef hash out of the left overs. Used diced potatoes, onion, and red pepper fried up together. It was great. NOW HERE'S THE BEST PART!!! I had some left over hash and about a cup of left over juice from the original brisket (couldn't bring myself to throw it away) Long story short. Makes GREAT SOUP: Dice up 2 russet potatoes, 1 large sweet onion, 2 carrots, and 2 stalks of celery. Put in pot with 1 cup left over juice and just enough chicken broth to cover the veggies well. Cook them until tender and then add the leftover hash. OMG...the soup IS SOOO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Amazing! I have not found another recipe that compairs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I LOVE IT . REALLY TASTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I loved it! I can't wait to make it again on Passover!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Amazing love it and so does my whole family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My mother made this one weekend when we visited. Before we left I had saved the recipe to my Recipe box. It was amazing. I have used it several times since and have never been disappointed. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States