Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Pretty tasty, very tender. With the left over broth, I let sit in a bowl in the fridge overnight. Took most of the fat off. Added 2T brown sugar, 1T dry thyme, 2T flour, 1 beer and simmered to a reduction of half the amount. Made 3 french onion soups. Topped the french onion soup with a slice of french bread and 1/2cup shredded swiss cheese. Baked at 400 for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Best melt in your mouth brisket ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious and relatively easy...perfect combination. Made this for passover dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very good, I also added more veggies to the mix especially carrots and parsnips ( adds a wonderful sweetness) . If you want to adda real zing don't use water use low sodium V-8 juice. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhm613

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, this was fantastic! I am very surprised by the flavor! I did change a few ingredients/directions. I used low sodium beef broth instead of water. This gave the brisket more flavor and tenderized the onions more as well. I also browned the brisket fully before adding the onions. Finally, I recommend fully submerging the brisket in the broth to in order to get a rich, delicious gravy for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphrosyn7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is DA BOMB! Just delicious and a very successful dinner! I did follow some pointers by other reviewers and browned on all sides plus covered it in low sodium beef broth instead of water. I served it with smashed garlic red taters and oh my! Thank you FriendlyFood for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We didn't care for this. It was really bland and tasted like boiled beef. Will not try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used since I was married 43 years ago! I have not made it in at least 15 years and I could not find my recipe anywhere. On my first try I located it on your website. The only difference is that I add 3 beef buillion cubes at the very end to make the sauce heartier. If the sauce is too thin, add a little cornstarch that has been dissolved in a small amount of cold water. Tastes just like a Jewish Deli meat......delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
i cooked this for my german boyfriend and he was elated. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is truly fabulous. I used Better th*n Boullion, kosher salt, and dried onion for my base in addition to the list here...Also added carrots (baby peeled), celery, and extra fresh garlic and fresh onions. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes. I did one major thing different: For the first 2 1/2 hours, I simmered it in a covered deep saute skillet on the stovetop. Then, I transferred it for the remaining 2 hours to the oven, covered at 260*F. I found that this made a thicker, richer liquor. At the end of 4 hours, we ate (it was terrific), and I left it in the oven for another 3 hours on 200*F and it was even better. I bet by tomorrow it will be so tender that it will melt in the mouth. Thank you so kindly for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States