Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used steak seasoning instead of salt and pepper. After searing the meat and cooking the onions, I added white wine and chicken stock instead of water, and kept it at a low simmer. I chopped potatoes into small chunks and also added them to the skillet along with mushrooms. After about 3 hours, the meat was fork-tender. I transferred it to a cutting board to rest and pulled out the potatoes, then boiled the remaining liquid down to a very tasty gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micheleberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was amazing! Just like my grandmothers .. Although in channeling my own grandma I did also add a few things ... I used three large cloves of elephant garlic and put them in last they disintegrated and added a little sweetness and added beef bullion and celery and carrots. But the basics of this recipe were perfect to jump off of. So happy to find it :) I also loved doing it in a dutch oven as opposed to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My husband made this brisket and even though I told him to use beef broth and reduce the amount, he forgot. It was lacking flavor but I believe it was because of the amount of water. The brisket was super tender and cooked to perfection at about 3 1/2 hours. With a couple of tweaks this recipe will be used again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious. I added carrots and celery and it worked out good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I had never made a fresh beef brisket before. After searching the internet, came across this recipe. I read the reviews and got a little concerned when people said it needed more flavor. Here is what I did: Browned both sides of the brisket (it was a little over 4.4 lbs.). Mixed 2 packets of brown gravy mix with enough water to cover about 3/4 of the meat. Chopped the onions and garlic and mixed it with the liquid before pouring it over the top. Covered and cooked for a little over 2 hours. Maybe the heat was set too high because it was perfect at that time! Any longer and I think it would have become dry. My Husband couldn't get enough of it and kept saying it tasted like prime rib...silly Man :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisamarks12
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I added Kosher grape juice and Kosher Lipton Onion soup mix. I normally do not cook but this was really worth the smiles on my families faces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisamarks12

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I salted & peppered the brisket, added 3 pkts Swanson beef flavor boost, & water to cover brisket. I added too much liquid so after 2.5 hours add 1cup celery, 1cup carrots, & 2cup mushrooms. Put in the oven 260 F (uncovered so liquid would reduce) for 2 more hours. I added Trader Jo*s frozen mashed potato medallions to thicken. Honestly, it was a little dry and bland. Next time I would add the onion soup mix or try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Pretty tasty, very tender. With the left over broth, I let sit in a bowl in the fridge overnight. Took most of the fat off. Added 2T brown sugar, 1T dry thyme, 2T flour, 1 beer and simmered to a reduction of half the amount. Made 3 french onion soups. Topped the french onion soup with a slice of french bread and 1/2cup shredded swiss cheese. Baked at 400 for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Best melt in your mouth brisket ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious and relatively easy...perfect combination. Made this for passover dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States