Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Delicious! Everyone heard we were having brisket and thought of the corned beef, but were plesentaly surprised with this recipe. Its really tasty. I also browned the second side before putting it on the onions! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I am a first time cook of Beef Brisket, not to mention, that I don't often cook too much of anything else either, but I longed for the Beef Brisket Sandwich you get in a good Jewish Deli without going all the way to New York ;) The Brisket turned out great; the flavor was exactly what I was aiming for. I thought that I had drown the brisket, as some of the other's did, the pot size is very important in proportion to the size of the piece of brisket, but as the recipe directed, ‘after removing the Brisket from the pot’, I simmered the broth with the Pot Lid ajar, until it reduced (about 1hr) to a fine delectably tasty gravy. Yes this recipe will be well used and some of the hints in the other reviews as well, But, let us not forget this was and is the only recipe that I found that met my requirements for a Delicious mouth-watering Brisket of Beef sandwich. My Gratitude and Appreciation to you FriendlyFood for submitting and sharing your Mothers Recipe. Note: This was the first time since my Mother passed that I used her old seasoned & blackened (Dutch oven), I think that’s what it’s called? Anyway it brought back many fond memories of her in the kitchen cooking her favorite recipes such as pot roast or turkey & giblet gravy. Thanks & Regards RECIPE NOTES: • Be careful with the pepper (Don't over season, you can't change after it is cooked and too much pepper will make the Brisket inedible. If your not sure(try dusting off excess pepper before cooking) • Be sure to N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
i cooked this for my german boyfriend and he was elated. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I'm currently attending culinary school in connecticut, and needed to find recipes for "kosher food day". Being the only jew in my class, I wanted to show my knowledge of cooking off a bit, and then realised i've never used a recipe in my life. unfortunatly, my teachers won't allow us to go into the kitchen without some recipes written down, so, having this guideline really helped. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I made this recipe and added one more ingredient, it turned out fabulous!! The other ingredient I added, was a packet of onion soup mix. I did not add the beef broth, but added water as the recipe directed, and with the onion soup mix, the gravy turned out thick and wonderful! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was my first time making brisket and it was awesome. It was so tender and flavorful and the gravy was so good. I can't wait to have it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Thank you! I'm a new cook and I bought a rump roast cut 'cuz I didn't know the difference, but I cooked per instructions and it came out perfect!! It was so easy I'll make this again and again. I reduced the left over juices and added a little cornstarch to thicken as a gravy. I'm getting rave reviews. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe was great. I did not have any cloves so I left them out, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is my mother's recipe for brisket also. And my grandmother's - so this is a TRUE Jewish brisket recipe, as my grandmother came from Poland. Anyhow, I made brisket for the first time and I didn't have a recipe. I knew, though, how to make it from watching my Mother countless times. She was at work, so I looked it up here and I found her exact recipe. I followed it and my family loved the results. This is a great make ahead as it tastes good on the first day but even better on the second day. Also brisket goes a long way, so it is perfect for company. It goes with anything - my preference is over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is truly fabulous. I used Better th*n Boullion, kosher salt, and dried onion for my base in addition to the list here...Also added carrots (baby peeled), celery, and extra fresh garlic and fresh onions. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes. I did one major thing different: For the first 2 1/2 hours, I simmered it in a covered deep saute skillet on the stovetop. Then, I transferred it for the remaining 2 hours to the oven, covered at 260*F. I found that this made a thicker, richer liquor. At the end of 4 hours, we ate (it was terrific), and I left it in the oven for another 3 hours on 200*F and it was even better. I bet by tomorrow it will be so tender that it will melt in the mouth. Thank you so kindly for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States