Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is my mother's recipe for brisket also. And my grandmother's - so this is a TRUE Jewish brisket recipe, as my grandmother came from Poland. Anyhow, I made brisket for the first time and I didn't have a recipe. I knew, though, how to make it from watching my Mother countless times. She was at work, so I looked it up here and I found her exact recipe. I followed it and my family loved the results. This is a great make ahead as it tastes good on the first day but even better on the second day. Also brisket goes a long way, so it is perfect for company. It goes with anything - my preference is over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This recipe was great. I did not have any cloves so I left them out, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I make a version of this; I brown the brisket and remove. With the drippings I then, sautee chopped onion, 2 cloves garlic chopped, 1 cup chopped mushrooms and 2 chopped carrots. I add 2 cans of beef broth and 1/2 package of onion soup mix. Add back the beef and add one bay leaf. Simmer for 3 hours on low boil. Cool and slice beef against the grain. Best served the next day with garlic mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is the best brisket recipe I have tried! It's easy to make with few ingredients and you most likely have everything in your house. I want to try it in my crock pot to make it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Easy and to the point. We has this with roasted asparagas and potato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Use Red wine and beef bullion instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Thank you! I'm a new cook and I bought a rump roast cut 'cuz I didn't know the difference, but I cooked per instructions and it came out perfect!! It was so easy I'll make this again and again. I reduced the left over juices and added a little cornstarch to thicken as a gravy. I'm getting rave reviews. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was my first time making brisket and it was awesome. It was so tender and flavorful and the gravy was so good. I can't wait to have it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I am a first time cook of Beef Brisket, not to mention, that I don't often cook too much of anything else either, but I longed for the Beef Brisket Sandwich you get in a good Jewish Deli without going all the way to New York ;) The Brisket turned out great; the flavor was exactly what I was aiming for. I thought that I had drown the brisket, as some of the other's did, the pot size is very important in proportion to the size of the piece of brisket, but as the recipe directed, ‘after removing the Brisket from the pot’, I simmered the broth with the Pot Lid ajar, until it reduced (about 1hr) to a fine delectably tasty gravy. Yes this recipe will be well used and some of the hints in the other reviews as well, But, let us not forget this was and is the only recipe that I found that met my requirements for a Delicious mouth-watering Brisket of Beef sandwich. My Gratitude and Appreciation to you FriendlyFood for submitting and sharing your Mothers Recipe. Note: This was the first time since my Mother passed that I used her old seasoned & blackened (Dutch oven), I think that’s what it’s called? Anyway it brought back many fond memories of her in the kitchen cooking her favorite recipes such as pot roast or turkey & giblet gravy. Thanks & Regards RECIPE NOTES: • Be careful with the pepper (Don't over season, you can't change after it is cooked and too much pepper will make the Brisket inedible. If your not sure(try dusting off excess pepper before cooking) • Be sure to N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I made this recipe and added one more ingredient, it turned out fabulous!! The other ingredient I added, was a packet of onion soup mix. I did not add the beef broth, but added water as the recipe directed, and with the onion soup mix, the gravy turned out thick and wonderful! Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States