Jewish Grandma's Best Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Pretty tasty, very tender. With the left over broth, I let sit in a bowl in the fridge overnight. Took most of the fat off. Added 2T brown sugar, 1T dry thyme, 2T flour, 1 beer and simmered to a reduction of half the amount. Made 3 french onion soups. Topped the french onion soup with a slice of french bread and 1/2cup shredded swiss cheese. Baked at 400 for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Best melt in your mouth brisket ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious and relatively easy...perfect combination. Made this for passover dinner this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very good, I also added more veggies to the mix especially carrots and parsnips ( adds a wonderful sweetness) . If you want to adda real zing don't use water use low sodium V-8 juice. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhm613

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow, this was fantastic! I am very surprised by the flavor! I did change a few ingredients/directions. I used low sodium beef broth instead of water. This gave the brisket more flavor and tenderized the onions more as well. I also browned the brisket fully before adding the onions. Finally, I recommend fully submerging the brisket in the broth to in order to get a rich, delicious gravy for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphrosyn7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is DA BOMB! Just delicious and a very successful dinner! I did follow some pointers by other reviewers and browned on all sides plus covered it in low sodium beef broth instead of water. I served it with smashed garlic red taters and oh my! Thank you FriendlyFood for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We didn't care for this. It was really bland and tasted like boiled beef. Will not try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used since I was married 43 years ago! I have not made it in at least 15 years and I could not find my recipe anywhere. On my first try I located it on your website. The only difference is that I add 3 beef buillion cubes at the very end to make the sauce heartier. If the sauce is too thin, add a little cornstarch that has been dissolved in a small amount of cold water. Tastes just like a Jewish Deli meat......delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
i cooked this for my german boyfriend and he was elated. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is truly fabulous. I used Better th*n Boullion, kosher salt, and dried onion for my base in addition to the list here...Also added carrots (baby peeled), celery, and extra fresh garlic and fresh onions. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes. I did one major thing different: For the first 2 1/2 hours, I simmered it in a covered deep saute skillet on the stovetop. Then, I transferred it for the remaining 2 hours to the oven, covered at 260*F. I found that this made a thicker, richer liquor. At the end of 4 hours, we ate (it was terrific), and I left it in the oven for another 3 hours on 200*F and it was even better. I bet by tomorrow it will be so tender that it will melt in the mouth. Thank you so kindly for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States