Jewish Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have made this over and over again! What I like about this recipe is that you can become creative with the filling. I always put in more bell pepper. Also, I don't ever peel the eggplant and I use half flour and half bread crumbs.Just a tip: I've found that slicing the eggplant lengthwise so that it makes longer slices packs better into a rectangular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It was good but leftovers were not that good. I would make this again just a smaller amount and change up the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good. I substituted instant mashed potato flakes for the matzo meal to make this gluten free. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Liked the onion/mushroom/red pepper filling a lot. My son said this coating tasted like french fries, but he was the only one who detected that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
My only complaint was that this dish is so dense. It might need some more light "filler" ingredients (potatoes or pasta maybe?). I still really enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
What a clever way to eliminate pasta from lasagna!! I've made eggplant parmesan and grilled it on kabobs, but this recipe has given me an alternative way to prepare eggplant when the garden is prolific!! Going to try freezing it, to reheat (I'll let you know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
OMG! Who knew you could have lasagna without pasta! Totally YUM! I followed the directions except I was able to fit everything into an 8X8 dish. I will make this again and again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My daughter made this for lunch today. I never would have thought it would be SO good! It was delicious!!! You won't miss the meat and noodles AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The taste is very good, however it was too gloppy for my taste. Perhaps if portabello mushrooms were substituted. Also browning the eggplant slices took too much time. I should have read the recipe more carefully. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is so good it must be criminal! I used italian bread crumbs because that is what I had on hand. I added some fresh spinach at the end of sauteeing the onions/peppers/mushrooms and also put some ground beef in my pasta sauce and layered some cheese in the middle. Husband had second helping, really enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Sadly, I went to two stores here in Tucson, Arizona and couldn't find Matzo :-( I used panko, and it still tasted amazing. Love the simple ingredients. Used Paul Newman's tomato basil spaghetti sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States