Jewish Eggplant Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is very tasty! I had all of the ingredients on hand with the exception of the matzo meal so I used a 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs mixed together - perfect! I also have a lap band and for anyone who has a lap band they will appreciate this recipe (I ate TWO CUP)! Thank you for sharing MelissaD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I'm not Jewish, but I have a lapband which does not allow me to eat lasagne pasta...too thick & gets tuck. This recipe is an answer to my prayers for a lasagne that I can enjoy as well as my family. We didn't even miss the pasta! YUM! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Yummy yummy this was a big hit with my family they loved it. No meat and I droped the mozzarella the frist time I made it and they still love it. Today they will have it with the mozzarella so i know I wi hear yommy yummy again. 5 statrs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have made this over and over again! What I like about this recipe is that you can become creative with the filling. I always put in more bell pepper. Also, I don't ever peel the eggplant and I use half flour and half bread crumbs.Just a tip: I've found that slicing the eggplant lengthwise so that it makes longer slices packs better into a rectangular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I was a little skeptical about making this. I am not jewish but I did have a couple over for last night who happen to be jewish and he is strictly on a kosher diet and a vegetarian and the other well, is jewish as well but isnt as strict in her diet. So I said "what the heck let me try this out". And I am so glad I did. I ended up using about 2 small-medium sized eggplants. I am so glad I used the matzo meal instead of bread crumbs. I think that is something that I will be using often. That was my first time having matzo meal. I didnt just use red pepper I also added a little bit of yellow and green. I also used 2 packages of a mushrooms medley that were mixed with all kind of exotic mushrooms and oooh so yummy. My husband and I love mushrooms especially the mixed medley kind. About $4 bucks a package. The only thing I would do differently is layer the mozzarella between the veggies and eggplant. And 1 package is not enough. I used 2 and I wish I had bought more. But the exciting thing for me was that my guests loved it and even asked for some more to take home with them for lunch tomorrow. I am not kidding! I was like "sure!" I was so happy knowing I had pleased my finicky guests lol. It was fun. And would gladly make this again. It was a lot of fin making sort if like a mini art project. I wanted everthing to look perfect! Happy eating people!!! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife628

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good! Put a layer of provolone cheese in the middle., and used grilled portabello mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
The taste is very good, however it was too gloppy for my taste. Perhaps if portabello mushrooms were substituted. Also browning the eggplant slices took too much time. I should have read the recipe more carefully. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is so good it must be criminal! I used italian bread crumbs because that is what I had on hand. I added some fresh spinach at the end of sauteeing the onions/peppers/mushrooms and also put some ground beef in my pasta sauce and layered some cheese in the middle. Husband had second helping, really enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Sadly, I went to two stores here in Tucson, Arizona and couldn't find Matzo :-( I used panko, and it still tasted amazing. Love the simple ingredients. Used Paul Newman's tomato basil spaghetti sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good. I substituted instant mashed potato flakes for the matzo meal to make this gluten free. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Liked the onion/mushroom/red pepper filling a lot. My son said this coating tasted like french fries, but he was the only one who detected that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States