Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is so good! I made this for breakfast and everyone LOVED it! the only things that I did differently were to only bake if for about 50 minutes, and I doubled the nut mixture. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was wonderful! I put the cake together the night before and put it in the fridge. The next morning I took it out and let it sit for about an hour before baking it. Then I served it warm to some gals at a meeting...everyone wanted the recipe! I used pecans instead of walnuts, brown sugar instead of powdered sugar, and part yogurt (didn't have enough sour cream). I also put 2 tablespoons of butter in the nut mixture and saved some to put on the top before baking! I will keep this in my collection of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was very good-- I can't believe anyone would only give this one star. You have to be doing something wrong if you don't like this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a great cake - I baked mine for 45 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I was going to make my great aunt's coffee cake for some company but didn't have a couple ingredients so i tried this. i didn't even finish my piece. my two guests did but i could tell by their faces that they were just being nice. which was confirmed when my husband got home and tasted. not sure if i did something wrong or if i'm just comparing it to my aunt's recipe and it doesn't measure up. would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very moist and thick! I didn't bother with the filling; just sprinkled a mixture of butter, brown sugar, and chopped walnuts on top. Only baked it about 35 minutes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This cake is fantastic! The proportions are just right. I removed the nuts in the filling 'cos my family doesn't like nuts, and added just one tsp more vanilla essence. Cake came out moist and creamy. I also made a cream cheese frosting to spread on top. So the cake has to be kept in the fridge, but it tastes good both hot and cold! Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great taste! This cake rated rave reviews from guests. I made 1.5 times the filling recipe, and this turned out to be exactly right for the filling layers, with enough left over to sprinkle over the top of the cake. This will be one of my "special occasion" choices again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I liked the cake, was moist and flavorful...but had a slight aftertaste from the sour cream...I will make again and sub yogurt for the sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was fabulous! I did modify it based on the ingredients I had and it still turned out great. I only had reduced fat sour cream (probably a good thing since it calls for so much butter). I took the advice of others and used brown sugar for the filling. I also didn't have walnuts and only a handful of almonds on hand. I chopped up the almonds in the food processor and added about 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the mixture just for a little texture since I was low on nuts. My husband ate the whole thing is a couple days and asked when I was making it again! Can't wait to try it with walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States