Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Amy F.
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wowza! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using brown sugar as others reviewers suggested. This is one phenomenally moist cake with a wonderfully tasty topping. I think this is one of the best recipes I have ever found on this site. Thank you so much Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I will need to be very, very careful around this cake when I make it again. Absolutely delicious and great with a dark, bold coffee and some cold, sweet fruit like peaches or berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Excellent. The cake flew, didn't last long. Even my nephews ate it all. The change I made was brown sugar instead of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Yummy! I used amix of brown and regular sugar for the topping. I also baked in an 8x8 pan for 50 minutes. turned out woderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yams
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
is a pretty nice cake. wasnt as easy to pour into the pan to bake, was a bit heavy...but luckily it turned out ok. i wish i had used brown sugar instead of confectioners as many have suggested here. the confectioners looked creepy on top of the cake. i also added some mixed frozen berries to the middle walnut mixture and it gave it a bit of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very delicious, moist coffee cake. The cake itself is not too sweet. I made a few changes to suit my husbands' request for a coffee cake that tastes like a cinnamon roll. I didn't have nuts and used brown sugar instead of confectioner's for the filling. I made it in a loaf pan. And after it came out of the oven I put a streusel on top (over the brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Wonderful moist texture. Would have been even better with more cinnamon. I think I'll have to try it with jam for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a really good coffee cake.I did follow the advise of other reviewers and used brown sugar instead of confectioners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I'm only giving it 4 stars because I took a lot of suggestions from the reviews so it changed the recipe a bit! But overall great recipe....fantastic recipe with the following changes (using yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 1/4 cup yogurt) and cinnamon instead of powdered sugar.... and that's it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States