Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This was a very good basic coffee cake recipe. I used the brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar like everyone recommended and it turned out great. The only other tip I have is to watch you don't overbake this. I only had mine in for 45 minutes and I thought it came out a bit dry. I will make again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was good. I replaced the powdered sugar with brown sugar like others did, and since I was out of nuts I used a 1/2 cup coconut for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
From Australia This cake was amazing! I have never made a sour cream cake before, but thought I'd try it for my sisters birthday. It was a hit, and I was begged to re-make it the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This cake is easy to make and tastes great! I substitute butter, sour cream for vegetable oil and non fat yogurt respectively. It's still moist and taste wonderful. I'm sure I will bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
really good and really moist I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
FABULOUS, FABULOUS AND SO DELICIOUS! A NEVER FAIL FAVORITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I thought this was pretty good. I just wasn't crazy about the confectioner's sugar. Next time, I will try it with the brown sugar instead. I baked mine in a 2 qt baking dish and an hour was too long, the cake was too dry. 45 min. would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This cake did impress my workmates for morning tea - they loved it!!! A definite keeper. I also used low fat sour cream and brown sugar in the topping and cooked in an 8x8" pan for allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a wonderful coffee cake! I too opted for the brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Also used light sour cream. The batter is very thick so it's a little difficult to spread especially when spreading the final layer atop the crumb mixture. But it turns out incredibly moist and LIGHT! Checked it at 35 minutes... let it cook 5 more and it was perfect. Cooled for 10 minutes before cutting. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Wonderful recipe-- I got my Jewish friends' approval! They said that it's just like Mom's recipe. I also used brown suger instead of confectioner's suger. plus the amount of sour cream should be more. (even though I used smaller pan: 8x 8.5, I feel the dough is not enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States