Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I am a pretty hopeless cake maker, but this turned out well. The flavor was good, the texture was nice and light, but I thought it was rather dry - it definitely needs to be eaten with tea/coffee/milk. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe bakes up just like its written thanks for sharing this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was truly amamzing. The best coffee cake I have ever tasted! I also used brown sugar instead of confectioners. I will be making this recipe time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent. Best coffee cake recipe on this website. I've made this several times for friends and family & everyone loved it. I used pecans instead of walnuts and brown sugar in place of 10X. Served warm and lightly buttered is best! Thanks for keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I've made this twice now, and both times it's turned out wonderfully. Nice and moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Delicious recipe! If you are in the mood for something with a indulgent cinnamon taste but without the unecessary sweetness (and calories) of frosting, you need to try this one! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Delicious coffe cake! Despite what other said, I found this cake to be perfectly sweet. I wouldn't add any more sugar or decrease the amount called for. It came out very moist, I definitely will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
i was surprised by how great this recipe turned out. i had a large amount of organic sour cream that i needed to use up and wanted to make a sour cream pound cake with dried apricots but was unable to find my recipe so i decided on this. the texture is really nice. however i do agree with others about the sweetness. it could be a little more sweet but to me it was perfect because i tend to cut down the sugar in most recipes. i made it last night and it seems to taste better this morning. i cut off a piece and mircrowaved it for about 30 seconds and couldn't help but have a second serving. i used unsalted butter only because it is an old habit from culinary school and added about 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. i also creamed the sugar and butter together first before adding the eggs. it makes it a lot easier. i'll make another one for the coworkers tonight but this time i'll use brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar for the nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Did not really care for the taste. Will keep looking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States