Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Lynn Price
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Amazing! I use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Lynn Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Double the amount of nuts, sugar, and cinnamon. Put half in the middle and half on top. Also, try baking in a Bundt pan, with the 1st half of the nut mixture on the bottom..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I doubled the recipe and baked in a bundt pan. I made a novice mistake and forgot to sprinkle the topping into the bottom (what becomes the top of the bundt pan) first. I used brown sugar instead of confectioners for the topping mix. I increased the sour cream by 1/4 cup (1/2 cup total since I doubled recipe) and it was moist. Since I goofed with the topping, I melted a little butter and mixed with cinnamon/sugar and drizzled it over the top after. It soaked in and tasted/looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I don't understand giving 5 stars for a recipe that you end up changing, so I am rating this as "ok". I was hunting for a coffee cake recipe that resembled the ones from my youth, and gave this one a shot. I followed the recipe exactly, and I liked the taste of the final product, but found the texture to be quite thick, bordering on heavy. I am used to coffee cakes being rather light. In addition, it rose while baking SO much that the top was dark brown before the middle was baked sufficiently - and this was with my oven being precisely calibrated for temp and having the rack directly in the middle. I understand what the recipe is trying to accomplish, but I am looking for lighter recipe, and this one seemed a bit heavy handed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was excellent! I used a cherry and blueberry filling in the middle and the streusel on top. The filling sank a good bit, so next time I will put about 2/3 of the batter in before the filling. I used a cup of nonfat Greek yogurt and added a half cup of lowfat sour cream. The cake was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It was really good. But based on the reviews, I used brown sugar instead of the confectioners sugar. I also always use vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I increased the vanilla to a tablespoon and substituted brown sugar for the confectioner's sugar as per the advice of other reviewers. The flavor of the cake is lovely, but the cake itself turned out quite dry, even though I used an extra egg in the batter. I'm going to have to finagle this recipe a bit to get it perfect next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
great coffee cake. I was looking for one that had sour cream because they always turn out the best. Batter was soft and creamy yellow. Didn't have nuts so just put a layer of brown sugar and cinnamon in the middle. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
great quick recipe.. check at 30 min b/c mine was way done, in a brand new oven perfectly calibrated. ONE HOUR would be way too long and dried out...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States