Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a wonderful coffee cake! I too opted for the brown sugar instead of the confectioners. Also used light sour cream. The batter is very thick so it's a little difficult to spread especially when spreading the final layer atop the crumb mixture. But it turns out incredibly moist and LIGHT! Checked it at 35 minutes... let it cook 5 more and it was perfect. Cooled for 10 minutes before cutting. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
WONDERFUL recipe! I put in about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream to make it a bit more moist. Also- mix the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture with some melted butter to form a soft crumble. I put some of the crumble in the bottom of a bundt pan, then 1/2 the batter, then more crumble, then the rest of the batter. Baked it for 55 minutes- it came out beautifully and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I quadrupled this recipe for 10 teenagers staying at my house and baked it in 2 9X13 pans. Delicious! Moist! Easy! - I did add a bit more sour cream than called for. I also had trouble smoothing the top layer over the crumbly middle (which I used 1/2 XX sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, cinnamon and no nuts). The TIP: wet fingers often to smooth top layer of batter - works perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Outstanding! I substituted brown sugar for the powedered sugar and it turned out great. However, I was horrified to see the amount of fat in each serving so I modified the recipe a little more the second time. I substituted low-fat plain yoghurt for the sour cream. Wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I thought this was pretty good. I just wasn't crazy about the confectioner's sugar. Next time, I will try it with the brown sugar instead. I baked mine in a 2 qt baking dish and an hour was too long, the cake was too dry. 45 min. would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This recipe was wonderful! I cant say anything bad about it- i did use brown sugar and cinnamon instead of confectioners sugar- it tasted wonderful- ill second the notion and THANK SARAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Wonderfully tastey and very easy to make! This coffee cake is a family favorite! I use brown sugar instead of powder sugar, and I sometimes use plain or vanilla flavored yogurt in place of the sourcream depending on what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This cake is easy to make and tastes great! I substitute butter, sour cream for vegetable oil and non fat yogurt respectively. It's still moist and taste wonderful. I'm sure I will bake this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This cake did impress my workmates for morning tea - they loved it!!! A definite keeper. I also used low fat sour cream and brown sugar in the topping and cooked in an 8x8" pan for allotted time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States