Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My biggest disappointment was not getting to eat that much of it - my boyfriend and roommate gobbled it all up! I used brown sugar instead of confectioner's sugar, and veggie oil instead of butter after reading the reviews here and it turned out great. Very yummy. Also I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had lying around, and it was just as yummy! Next time I make this I will probably use both pecans and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Stoner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have tried many coffe cake recipes over the last few years to try to find the one I remember eating as a kid. This one is the best. I used brown sugar as the topping and it was perfect with coffee! A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this recipe and it was very good. However, my husband and I both agree that it is missing someting. I am going to continue to look, but may use this one as a base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ok, full disclosure here, we made a number of changes First, we halved the batch for my small family, and cooked it in the toaster oven in a small round cake pan. Also, we are cutting down on our sugar, and since coffee cake is overly sweet to balance coffee, I often find i can cut the sugar in half. I think that next time I will only cut the white sugar in half, but only cut the powdered sugar by 1/4. I did half whole wheat and half white flour. And since we do not eat nuts around here, I substituted a 1/2 cup of crushed dried raspberries. Overall, it was a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was in a church cook book that I purchased twenty years ago. My family has enjoyed it every time that I make it. Very rich, very moist and very good. I would spray a bundt pan with pam and after it was baked I would carefully removed it from the pan (flip over) and then drizzled white sugar frosting just to add more calories. One of our favorites. Think I'll make one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Warning! This cake will ruin your diet! Amazing! in one word. Since I am Jewish, and I wanted the cake to be a dessert for Shabbos, I used an apple sauce instead of the sour cream. (Since we don't mix meat with dairy). Also tried it with Better then cream cheese. Came out amazing. The only trouble is, it interferes with my diet. My husband loved it. Since he likes crunchy nuts, I used a cup of coursely sliced almonds. Used 13X9 Alluminum pan. I put the nuts mixture on top, and used organic brown sugar, instead of conf. Definately will try again! (G-d Willing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This cake is bad news! You won't be able to stop eating it! I doubled the recipe and it is half way gone! The only change I did was brown sugar instead of confectioner's and I added a little bit of milk to the batter (it was so thick, I was afraid the cake would have been dry had I not added the milk). No need for worries! The cake is delicious! Wonderful buttery flavor and moist, very moist! I'll keep on baking it! It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This cake makes frequent appearances on the breakfast buffet at my B&B- the only substitution is plain yogurt with a touch of milk for the sour cream as I cannot find sour cream in Italy and the addition of fresh fruit (apples, peaches, nectarines, etc.) to the middle layer of streusel filling. It is always well received by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States