Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Rav reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I use chocolate chips instea of nuts, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Brilliant! I made it for the first time today, and used hung yoghurt as a substitute for sour cream. The best part? How good the house smells while the cake is in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is pretty good. It is not overly sweet, it's relatively moist. By baking in a 9x9 pan it doesn't look very pretty in terms of in the pan or serving a slice, and the top and edges get pretty browned by the time the center is done. I used vegetable oil instead of butter. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayonnaise as that's what I had. I added 1 tsp salt. I used brown sugar instead of confectioners sugar in the crumble. And I used pecans. It was done at about 50-52 mins. Will make again but will use a bundt pan or some other decorative muffin-type tin, just worried the brown sugar filling will make it stick when you try to remove from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My biggest disappointment was not getting to eat that much of it - my boyfriend and roommate gobbled it all up! I used brown sugar instead of confectioner's sugar, and veggie oil instead of butter after reading the reviews here and it turned out great. Very yummy. Also I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's all I had lying around, and it was just as yummy! Next time I make this I will probably use both pecans and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa86

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Stoner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have tried many coffe cake recipes over the last few years to try to find the one I remember eating as a kid. This one is the best. I used brown sugar as the topping and it was perfect with coffee! A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this recipe and it was very good. However, my husband and I both agree that it is missing someting. I am going to continue to look, but may use this one as a base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ok, full disclosure here, we made a number of changes First, we halved the batch for my small family, and cooked it in the toaster oven in a small round cake pan. Also, we are cutting down on our sugar, and since coffee cake is overly sweet to balance coffee, I often find i can cut the sugar in half. I think that next time I will only cut the white sugar in half, but only cut the powdered sugar by 1/4. I did half whole wheat and half white flour. And since we do not eat nuts around here, I substituted a 1/2 cup of crushed dried raspberries. Overall, it was a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was in a church cook book that I purchased twenty years ago. My family has enjoyed it every time that I make it. Very rich, very moist and very good. I would spray a bundt pan with pam and after it was baked I would carefully removed it from the pan (flip over) and then drizzled white sugar frosting just to add more calories. One of our favorites. Think I'll make one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary M. Donahoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States