Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This is the best recipe yet! I am making it again for a school fundraiser/bake sale. It is moist, delicious, and absolutely perfect. I even served it as a dessert the second day after baking it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I follwed the other reviews and used brown sugar and made a struesal type topping, you really need to watch the cooking time I baked for 45 minutes and it was a little dry will make again and shorten the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I also used brown sugar in place of the powdered sugar with good results. I even think you could half the topping amounts (nut mixture) and only sprinkle it on the top instead of putting some in the middle AND on the top. There was no need to drizzle the melted butter on the top. If desired- you could simply cut in a small amount of cold butter into the nut mixture and sprinkle it over the top that way. It will produce a crumbly topping. I do this on most of my recipes that call for streusel toppings. Baked mine in an 8x8 pan for 45 minutes with good results. An hour would have been too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This is a very rich, very tasty coffee cake. I used brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar for the topping, and one-half cup of walnuts instead of one cup, and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
VERY VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This was too dry for my taste and there was not enough flavor to it compared to other coffee cakes I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
A great cake! We all had seconds. Mine was completely cooked in 35 minutes, so check it way before an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This was a very good basic coffee cake recipe. I used the brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar like everyone recommended and it turned out great. The only other tip I have is to watch you don't overbake this. I only had mine in for 45 minutes and I thought it came out a bit dry. I will make again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was good. I replaced the powdered sugar with brown sugar like others did, and since I was out of nuts I used a 1/2 cup coconut for the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
From Australia This cake was amazing! I have never made a sour cream cake before, but thought I'd try it for my sisters birthday. It was a hit, and I was begged to re-make it the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States