Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Really good, I too had trouble with the nut mixture not sticking together, I'll try mixing with batter next time as suggested. I used a bundt pan and it turned out great also I added some brown sugar and fresh ground nutmeg in the nut mix and it was wonderful. I just made it and I can't wait to have a piece with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
thanks Sarah This cake is delicious. Next time I will mix small part cake mix with the nut mixture so that it sticks together better. I used crushed nuts, hazel meal and some sliced almonds. Next time will try with brown sugar instead as well. the butter was quite salty so that gave it an extra flavour in the mouth as you took a bite. Will make it a staple for visitors and work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Best coffee cake I have ever tasted.I actually made this for the first time a few years ago and it turned out perfect! I will make it this holiday season also.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I used half all purpose flour and half 80/20 whole wheat flour and soy flour mix. I also used pecans and 2 teaspoons baking powder no soda because that is what I had. Everyone loved it. Pretty easy to make and stayed fresh two days beyond the day I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPEVERLEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Nice texture and flavor. Personally, I think it needs no icing, especially as a cake to eat with coffee. I used margarine instead of butter. Did a little something different with the cinnamon filling: I used brown sugar and cinnamon and mixed the butter (margarine) in with the beaters I mixed the cake batter with. Added a large dollop of the cake batter to form a thick cinnamon batter. I used a bundt pan (greased) and put down a layer of the cake batter, made a little trough with my spatula and put in the cinnamon batter, then covered it with remaining cake batter. Baked for 45 minutes at 350 in the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Delicious. Raised up nice and it is just the right size for my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
The younger crowd felt this needed something else as the cake was fairly bland. It was not a very sweet cake and my grandmother was the only one who really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Everyone loves this! I made a few modifications: used brown sugar instead of powdered, used pecans instead of walnuts, and added about 1/8 cup of milk to the batter because it was really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Nothing special to me -- and I've had much better toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States