Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very moist, great taste, & looks pretty. I love that with this recipe I may experiment with different "fillings ". Only problem, it didn't take as long to cook as the recipe says, and the recipe says to touch the cake and if it bounces back it's done. DONT DO THAT IT WILL BURN YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
WONDERFUL recipe! I put in about 1 1/4 cups of sour cream to make it a bit more moist. Also- mix the brown sugar and cinnamon mixture with some melted butter to form a soft crumble. I put some of the crumble in the bottom of a bundt pan, then 1/2 the batter, then more crumble, then the rest of the batter. Baked it for 55 minutes- it came out beautifully and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUARIUS
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Some people say it is moist and some people say it is dry... I was wondering which was true. I like very moist cake even if I eat with a cup of coffee! So, I tried to use 1/4 cup RICE FLOUR and 3/4 cup all purpose flour instead of 1 cup all purpose flour (by the way, I made this cake with just a half amount of the original. I used 1-8x4x2in. pan, baked 45 min.) It turned out so moist and delicious!! I don't know if it's rice flour's magic or originally moist but you should try if you like very moist cake! Also, I used brown sugar instead of confectioners' sugar as many people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
good stuff,just like my Grandma makes only a little dry,hence the 4 star rating...but might depend on over pan size you end up using...whatever...def recommend though!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Mmmm. This is probably the best coffee cake I've had in a long time. 40 minetes was enough time for this to be done. It came out moist and delish. Tastes way better with the brown sugar swap out instead of the confectioners. Another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I am a pretty hopeless cake maker, but this turned out well. The flavor was good, the texture was nice and light, but I thought it was rather dry - it definitely needs to be eaten with tea/coffee/milk. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe bakes up just like its written thanks for sharing this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was truly amamzing. The best coffee cake I have ever tasted! I also used brown sugar instead of confectioners. I will be making this recipe time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent. Best coffee cake recipe on this website. I've made this several times for friends and family & everyone loved it. I used pecans instead of walnuts and brown sugar in place of 10X. Served warm and lightly buttered is best! Thanks for keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States