Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I am a pretty hopeless cake maker, but this turned out well. The flavor was good, the texture was nice and light, but I thought it was rather dry - it definitely needs to be eaten with tea/coffee/milk. Thanks, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice recipe bakes up just like its written thanks for sharing this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was truly amamzing. The best coffee cake I have ever tasted! I also used brown sugar instead of confectioners. I will be making this recipe time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I've been using this recipe for about 5 years, and it's always a hit. I double it and bake it in a bunt pan. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent. Best coffee cake recipe on this website. I've made this several times for friends and family & everyone loved it. I used pecans instead of walnuts and brown sugar in place of 10X. Served warm and lightly buttered is best! Thanks for keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I've made this twice now, and both times it's turned out wonderfully. Nice and moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Delicious recipe! If you are in the mood for something with a indulgent cinnamon taste but without the unecessary sweetness (and calories) of frosting, you need to try this one! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Delicious coffe cake! Despite what other said, I found this cake to be perfectly sweet. I wouldn't add any more sugar or decrease the amount called for. It came out very moist, I definitely will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
i was surprised by how great this recipe turned out. i had a large amount of organic sour cream that i needed to use up and wanted to make a sour cream pound cake with dried apricots but was unable to find my recipe so i decided on this. the texture is really nice. however i do agree with others about the sweetness. it could be a little more sweet but to me it was perfect because i tend to cut down the sugar in most recipes. i made it last night and it seems to taste better this morning. i cut off a piece and mircrowaved it for about 30 seconds and couldn't help but have a second serving. i used unsalted butter only because it is an old habit from culinary school and added about 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt. i also creamed the sugar and butter together first before adding the eggs. it makes it a lot easier. i'll make another one for the coworkers tonight but this time i'll use brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar for the nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Did not really care for the taste. Will keep looking. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States