Jewish Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I increased the vanilla to a tablespoon and substituted brown sugar for the confectioner's sugar as per the advice of other reviewers. The flavor of the cake is lovely, but the cake itself turned out quite dry, even though I used an extra egg in the batter. I'm going to have to finagle this recipe a bit to get it perfect next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
great coffee cake. I was looking for one that had sour cream because they always turn out the best. Batter was soft and creamy yellow. Didn't have nuts so just put a layer of brown sugar and cinnamon in the middle. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
great quick recipe.. check at 30 min b/c mine was way done, in a brand new oven perfectly calibrated. ONE HOUR would be way too long and dried out...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this for the first time Easter morning. It was a big hit! My son doesn't like nuts but likes the flavor so I used ground walnuts in the topping. It turned out really well. I also cooked it on a bundt pan for just 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was a delicious, moist cake even though I forgot to save filling for the top, the recipe was very forgiving and my family woofed it down. I substituted pecans for walnuts yum! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNYCHILD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Loved it! I do t like nuts, so I left those out and double the filling, saving a bit to put on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very good! i did listen to others and used brown sugar. One other thing i did different, just because i had apples to use up, was to dice some granny smiths and saute in a little butter and cinnamon sugar. added to cake between the layers. YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wonderful! I followed Tami426's suggestion and increased the recipe to 18 servings instead of 12. I also used a bundt pan. This was a Christmas morning hit. Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arm90
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good recipe but I doubled the cinnamon mix and it definitely made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We run a bed and breakfast in Minnesota. I've made this cake perhaps 20 times. It is fantastic. Like many (take the hint) I subbed the powdered sugar for brown. The batter is very thick and difficult to work with if you don't add a good 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States