Jewish Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Ok- This soup was amazing! Followed the recipe exactly and everything was perfect. The only thing I could not figure out was how to remove the chicken bone fragments from the chicken meat after the soup was finished....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
perfect chicken soup recipe yet no great Jew would ever add parsnips, never, and I love this recipe and use it all the time as I am an old practicing jew of old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this for my sick husband and he declared that he was feeling "much better" right after having two bowls. The only change that I made was I boiled the chicken first in water, threw out the water (this way, I got rid of a lot of the chicken fat and other "stuff" that comes out when you first cook the chicken, and then I started with step one per the recipe as written. Really delicious and a definite addition to our family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
great recipe! However, it is missing the chicken feet, just like my jewish great-grandmother's from europe taught her daughter. This recipe (plus the feet for flavor and gelatin quality) , including parsnips, has been used in our European Jewish family for hundred's of years? Anyway, here is an important tip: Use free range chicken not the grocery store chickens. This will give your soup a much richer flavor. Also, simmer slowly for several hours, this also makes the soup much richer. If you are in a hurry, you can add some Lipton's Onion soup mix, this will definitely give it a jolt of flavor. PS: I like floaters LOL thank you for posting this old favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Thankyou soo much Layla for this recipe Ive had the flu for a couple of days and was feeling really down,all I could think of was having some of my Auntie sephfa's chicken matza ball soup that she had last made me as a teenager,in desperation I looked on the internet,and found laylas great recipe,I followed It to the letter,(even had my husband drive the 40 kms to nearest big town to find Matzo meal and Dill,we live on a property out of town)Its been 30 odd years since I was a teen, but I still recognise the taste.Laylas soup did the trick, and yes putting less meal in the matzo balls does make them float,fed it to all n my family last night all enjoyed it, and Im feeling a lot better today so thankyou again Layla and God bless you, keep cooking and sharing recipes Love Sebria (Little Hartley,N.S,W.Australia,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somersby, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Little Hartley, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a staple for me, I have made this soup many times! (I have yet to make the matzo balls, I have my own recipe for dumplings & make mine differently.) But the method & and ingred. for the broth are perfection---really warms you up on a cold Autumn day! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was very tasty soup. I couldn't find matzo meal at the store, so I used my standard dumpling recipe. It was still very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Fresh dill added a perfect flavor. I'll definitely keep this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Gotta cold? Well let me tell you this soup kicks chicken noodle soups rear! If you are sick or its just cold outside this soup is like curling up in your favorite blanket and pj's,if you haven't already you gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I skipped the parsnip. Excellent "floaters" made with 1/2 the matzo. Dill was a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States