Jewish Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Loved it. This is a great tasting recipe for what we call "jewish penicillin". It will cure anything and everything. I made this recipe earlier this week after being dehydrated from the flu and I got back on my feet in no time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Wow! This was truly a tasty recipe. It was an exact duplicate of my grandmothers soup but I never had the recipe. Unfortunately, I couldn't find matzo meal at our store here on Kauai, so I had to settle for the soup without the matzo balls, but it was wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Sooo Good! Just like my mother always made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
great recipe! However, it is missing the chicken feet, just like my jewish great-grandmother's from europe taught her daughter. This recipe (plus the feet for flavor and gelatin quality) , including parsnips, has been used in our European Jewish family for hundred's of years? Anyway, here is an important tip: Use free range chicken not the grocery store chickens. This will give your soup a much richer flavor. Also, simmer slowly for several hours, this also makes the soup much richer. If you are in a hurry, you can add some Lipton's Onion soup mix, this will definitely give it a jolt of flavor. PS: I like floaters LOL thank you for posting this old favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very good flavor. Didn't use the parsnips. Only had dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I skipped the parsnip. Excellent "floaters" made with 1/2 the matzo. Dill was a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Gotta cold? Well let me tell you this soup kicks chicken noodle soups rear! If you are sick or its just cold outside this soup is like curling up in your favorite blanket and pj's,if you haven't already you gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I made this for my sick husband and he declared that he was feeling "much better" right after having two bowls. The only change that I made was I boiled the chicken first in water, threw out the water (this way, I got rid of a lot of the chicken fat and other "stuff" that comes out when you first cook the chicken, and then I started with step one per the recipe as written. Really delicious and a definite addition to our family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a staple for me, I have made this soup many times! (I have yet to make the matzo balls, I have my own recipe for dumplings & make mine differently.) But the method & and ingred. for the broth are perfection---really warms you up on a cold Autumn day! Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
perfect chicken soup recipe yet no great Jew would ever add parsnips, never, and I love this recipe and use it all the time as I am an old practicing jew of old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILHERB

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Chicken Soup

This traditional chicken and matzoh ball soup is the original health food.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States