Jewish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very moist cake. Good even without glaze! I used apple cider instead of orange juice in the cake and the glaze to give it more apple flavor. Also cut cinnamon to 1 tablespooon - that was plenty! Will add nuts to the apple mixture next time. And maybe a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Moist cake the topping after it's baked is a great idea. I didn't change the recipe at all but do feel the apples do not need 2 tbls of cinnamin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
AMAZING!!! I followed the recipe just as it is and it came out great. I just love how the glaze is absorbed into the cake. Just amazingly delicious. You won't want to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Our whole family loved this cake. It is a wonderful choice for fall. We did not want to wait to eat it so we tried to get it out of the pan before it was cool...bad idea. Wait until it is cool or it will fall apart. Tasted just as good to us though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is actually better the next day and it was amazing on day one. I was a little put off by the amount called for on some ingredients but forge ahead! It is worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This cake is FANTASTIC!!! Very moist and loaded with apples. LOVE IT and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I did not add the glaze, didn't want or need the extra calories as the recipe already has 2 cups of sugar and a cup of oil but I found the cake to be on the dry side.Maybe if the apples had been stirred throughout the batter rather than just in the middle. Maybe a 1/2 cup of added applesauce would have been a good addition for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Nothing but compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought is was dry and needed butter rather then oil, BUT the family loved it, so it got 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy J
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The best cake. I used Powdered sugar and orange juice - omited butter from glaze and drizzled over top - see picture. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States