Jewish Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
this is so amazing and moist!!!! a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved this cake and so did everyone else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I have made several Jewish Apple Cakes over the years and found this one to be dry, lacking in flavor and poor in texture. The lack of flavor along with the glaze made the cake overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This cake was good but not to-die-for. I think, however, that was mainly due to over baking. You do NOT need an hour and 25 mins. This makes the crust rock hard and it doesn't absorb the glaze. I think if it was baked an hour and absorbed the glaze it would be a lot moister. I'll give it another shot and try that next time, but if that doesn't wow me, I'll be moving on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I have made this 2x in the past 2 weeks - first time according to recipe (except I cut bake time down to 1 hour), 2nd time I substituted 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 c of the oil. Second time, I made this in the Perfect brownie pan (one that makes the individual brownies as it bakes). I cut the time down to 45 minutes as the metal is touching more sides. Great for treating people at work this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very moist and a great cinnamon taste throughout but not overbearing. I would use the glaze, it adds to the favor of the cake. Great for church events, family events and more. A real keeper. I would back off the time, just a bit, but our over runs hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I just made this cake today and HAD to taste it before it even cooled off much. It is just yummy! I only used 1T of cinnamon. It was just right. Can't wait to share some with friends, it's too much for just the two of us! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabeno, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birnamwood, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Wow I'm not sure what I did wrong and I love to bake. Someone had given me a bunch of apples leftover from a health fair and I thought i would try this...had to throw it away because it was dry and way too sweet for my taste and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum! Used apple cider vs. OJ as recommended. Glazed after it cooled & removed fr the bundt pan. Will probably use loaf pans next time & glaze while hot. This is an excellent/hardy cake. Very nice for brunch or dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This cake is outstanding easy to make and delicious.I will be making this cake for a long time. This cake needs another star!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States