Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by zoesmom1
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
My husband and Daughter just loved these! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoesmom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal recipe! I just got a new fridge yesterday, and in unloading and reloading, I came upon a bag of cranberries that really needed to be used - NOW. So I first made cranberry sauce out of them, cooled it, and used it in this cake, in place of half the apples. I scraped 1/3 of the batter in the pan, topped with the cranberry sauce, put in another 1/3 of the batter, topped with the halved apple mixture, scraped in the remaining batter. The flavor is sensational, the texture super moist. Aside from the cranberries standing in for half the apples, I cut the flour back to 2-3/4 cup. I baked it for only 85 minutes. I checked on it at about 45 minutes, and it appeared to be browning early. So I placed a piece of foil on top for the remainder of the baking time. It came out with a nice, crunchy crust on top. I glazed it with a lovely caramel rum glaze: 3 Tb butter, 2 Tb brown sugar, 2 Tb white sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp dark rum, 2 Tb whipping cream, combined in a small sauce pan over medium-low heat, until it comes to a simmer. Continue to simmer for 3 minutes. Brush over the warm cake, right after you remove it from the pan. It's not a lot of glaze, but it's quite flavorful, just enough to point up the cake's ingredients to perfection and to impart a lovely sheen. BTW, I will try making it with only apples the next time. Yes, the cranberries and glaze were a little difference, but the cake flavor and texture remained unchanged, and gotta say, they're stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wow - this is one awesome Jewish Apple Cake! And it's definitely a crowd pleaser as the submitter states. It sweet, moist, rises beautifully and is absolutely delicious. I didn't have Rome Beauty apples, so I used a combination of apples that I had on hand. Other than that, I would change a thing with this recipe. Apparently since this recipe has been handed down and made for over 37 years - if it ain't broke, don't fix it! All I had to do with this after it cooled, was to dust it with a little confectioners' sugar as if this beautiful cake needed anything else. Thanks Janyce for a wonderful recipe that I hope many more people try, they'll be glad they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i wanted to use up the last of my fall apples, so i made this recipe based on the rave reviews it got. i made the following alterations: 1 c. unbleached flour, 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour, 1 c. rolled oats (instead of 3 cups all purpose flour); 1/2 c. applesauce + 1/2 c. canola oil (instead of 1 c. oil); 1 c. egg whites (i had a bunch left over from some lime curd i made a few days back, in the future i'll probably use whole eggs), 2 Tbls. of flax seed meal, and brown sugar instead of white. i made this recipe in two loaf pans since my bundt pan has gone missing, baking them for about one hour, and it turned out great! i like the wholesomeness the oats give the cake, and i think it'll be perfect for quick, easy breakfasts all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anne
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a very good cake! I added about 1-1/4 t. cinnamon and one single-serve container of applesauce + canola oil to make up the c. of oil. Didn't use Rome Beauties, I don't know what kind of apples they were - maybe really large Red Delicious (6 c. chopped) - there was quite a bit of juice from the apples and I drizzled most of that on top before baking. Baked about 1 hr. 40 mins. Lots of dirty bowls from this, but worth it. (Tip: use a LARGE bowl to beat the eggs and sugar) I posted pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I just made this cake 3 days ago for my family that was visiting, and they loved it. I took the advice of others and used 1/2 oil and 1/2 apple sauce. The cake really came out moist, and now three days later it is still moist. I may use more apples next time though. I really like the flavor of the apples with cinnamon. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I use about 5-6 granny smith apples and it tasted great. This is my go to recipe during the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Rave reviews from folks at work and even from my mother-in-law! That is high praise! Great recipe for traditional Jewish Apple Cake. I used about 6 different types of apples, as I had been apple-picking in a huge orchard. Excellent results! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
FABULOUS!!! I did however take advise from other reviews and subtracted 1/2 of the oil and added applesauce in place of. I will be making this for a long time to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Heavenly! To make it healthy version: replace 1 c oil with 1 c unsweetened applesauce; use 1 c egg beaters instead of 4 whole eggs; reduce white sugar by 1/2 c. For flavor, try replacing the 3/4 c white sugar with brown sugar to mix with the cinnamon and up the cinnamon to 4 tsp - also sprinkle some raisins or dates or dried cranberries for variety. Whole house smelled wonderful. I think with the healthy changes, this would make a nice breakfast addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States