Jewish Apple Cake from Bubba's Recipe Box Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wow - this is one awesome Jewish Apple Cake! And it's definitely a crowd pleaser as the submitter states. It sweet, moist, rises beautifully and is absolutely delicious. I didn't have Rome Beauty apples, so I used a combination of apples that I had on hand. Other than that, I would change a thing with this recipe. Apparently since this recipe has been handed down and made for over 37 years - if it ain't broke, don't fix it! All I had to do with this after it cooled, was to dust it with a little confectioners' sugar as if this beautiful cake needed anything else. Thanks Janyce for a wonderful recipe that I hope many more people try, they'll be glad they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Janyce
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
If you want the cake a little more moist, decrease flour by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Heavenly! To make it healthy version: replace 1 c oil with 1 c unsweetened applesauce; use 1 c egg beaters instead of 4 whole eggs; reduce white sugar by 1/2 c. For flavor, try replacing the 3/4 c white sugar with brown sugar to mix with the cinnamon and up the cinnamon to 4 tsp - also sprinkle some raisins or dates or dried cranberries for variety. Whole house smelled wonderful. I think with the healthy changes, this would make a nice breakfast addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jemama
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Wonderful and easy!! This is a very tasty, not too sweet cake that is a cinch to make. I substituted 1/2 C. of the oil with applesauce and didn't have the dryness problem some reviewers complained of, in fact mine turned out very moist. I also drizzled powdered sugar glaze over the warm cake and it was a nice touch. I didn't have Rome Beauty apples but just used whatever was in my fruit bin and it was great! I highly recommend this recipe, it is a great brunch cake for Spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal recipe! I just got a new fridge yesterday, and in unloading and reloading, I came upon a bag of cranberries that really needed to be used - NOW. So I first made cranberry sauce out of them, cooled it, and used it in this cake, in place of half the apples. I scraped 1/3 of the batter in the pan, topped with the cranberry sauce, put in another 1/3 of the batter, topped with the halved apple mixture, scraped in the remaining batter. The flavor is sensational, the texture super moist. Aside from the cranberries standing in for half the apples, I cut the flour back to 2-3/4 cup. I baked it for only 85 minutes. I checked on it at about 45 minutes, and it appeared to be browning early. So I placed a piece of foil on top for the remainder of the baking time. It came out with a nice, crunchy crust on top. I glazed it with a lovely caramel rum glaze: 3 Tb butter, 2 Tb brown sugar, 2 Tb white sugar, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp dark rum, 2 Tb whipping cream, combined in a small sauce pan over medium-low heat, until it comes to a simmer. Continue to simmer for 3 minutes. Brush over the warm cake, right after you remove it from the pan. It's not a lot of glaze, but it's quite flavorful, just enough to point up the cake's ingredients to perfection and to impart a lovely sheen. BTW, I will try making it with only apples the next time. Yes, the cranberries and glaze were a little difference, but the cake flavor and texture remained unchanged, and gotta say, they're stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I use about 5-6 granny smith apples and it tasted great. This is my go to recipe during the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have known Janyce for over 10 years, her apple cake is the best! She broght it to work to rave reviews on several occasions-you go girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i wanted to use up the last of my fall apples, so i made this recipe based on the rave reviews it got. i made the following alterations: 1 c. unbleached flour, 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour, 1 c. rolled oats (instead of 3 cups all purpose flour); 1/2 c. applesauce + 1/2 c. canola oil (instead of 1 c. oil); 1 c. egg whites (i had a bunch left over from some lime curd i made a few days back, in the future i'll probably use whole eggs), 2 Tbls. of flax seed meal, and brown sugar instead of white. i made this recipe in two loaf pans since my bundt pan has gone missing, baking them for about one hour, and it turned out great! i like the wholesomeness the oats give the cake, and i think it'll be perfect for quick, easy breakfasts all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wow! Great cake- I've made it 3 times now and it is fantastic!! The only alteration I make is to substitute 1/2 C. olive oil and 1/2 C. plain yogurt for the 1 C. vegetable oil. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
YUM! I was just looking for an apple recipe that I already have the ingredients for. Having never tried a Jewish apple cake, I don't have much to compare it to, and I had to adjust it slightly for what was available to me. But here's what I did. First of all, I had a bag of McIntosh apples on hand rather than finding Rome apples. Since they are small/medium apples and not large, I used one or two extra. It came to about 6 cups once sliced and cubed. It wouldn't hurt to use more but this seemed to do the job. I didn't have enough vegetable oil so I melted some margarine spread to use instead and it worked fine. I also doubled the cinnamon and only had a 9x13 glass dish to bake it in. Since it was a different shape, it only took a little over an hour to bake. I didn't even have to use an electric mixer either. Just mixing it with a spoon worked well. It does require lots of dishes but is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limington, Maine, USA
Living In: Gorham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States