Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is the recipe my dear Mom used for 50 years. She got it from her sister as a young woman. I've been looking for it, and have finally found it! Not only is it delicious, but it evokes very sentimental feelings. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Made some of the changes posted here-topped slices of cake with heated caramel sauce...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was served at a small family dinner and they loved it so much they came back to finish it off the next day. It has made our holiday menu hall of fame list. These are the changes I made to the orignial recipe: 1)sugared greased pan gave a crunchy cookie crust. 2)tossed 3/4 C. chopped almonds with apples. 3)doubled baking powder lightened texture but require a little larger tube. 4)didn't have oranges so I used lemon juice. 5)added 1/2 C. brandy which added flavor and allowed lighter texture. 6)increased cinnamon as others suggested. 7)Baking time may be shortened due to changes in texture. 8)Topped with warm Mascarpone sauce (mascrpone cheese, milk, powdered sugar, and lemon zest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Wonderful! I didn't have enough oil so I did 1/2 C oil and 1/2 C melted butter. I also added another apple and about 1 Tbs sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the apples. I baked it for one hour, but it needed the full 80 min so I put it back in. Next time I will mix the apples in the batter since my cake seperated in the middle because all the apples were in the middle, but that was probably because I added more apples! This is a keeper and I am glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but I think next time I make it I am for sure going to add more apples like others suggested. Also, I realized I ran out of cinnamon while I was in the middle of making this so I subed with all-spice and I think the all-spice worked really well with the apple flavor. I think I'm going to make it with all spice from now on actually. Overall a great recipe. It has a really nice light sweet flavor and it's great for people with dairy allergies because there is no dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very easy to make and very tasty. I used 4 Granny Smith apples which looked like a lot at the time, but once it was baked I realized I could have easily used 1 or 2 more. I also replaced half the oil with apple sauce. Next time I will try brown sugar on the apples instead of white. It baked about 75 minutes and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
A PERFECT apple cake! Just follow the recipe steps and your cake will turn out right! I used 5 apples instead of 3. I found that Granny Smith Apples seem to work much better in this recipe than other types of apples. The first time I followed the recipe, I used golden delicious apples but it taste better with a tart, firm crisp apple like Granny Smith! Also, the orange juice really helps the taste of the cake so don't omit that. But here is a recipe that doesn't require much tweaking. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Excellent recipe. I didn't follow the exact measurements for the sugar or apples, though - I followed advice from other reviewers to cut down on the sugar (I used half a cup less sugar) and increase the number of apples (I used 2 more - next time I'll probably add even more). As for the sugar that is tossed with the apple pieces, I used brown sugar instead of white. I was really happy with this recipe, but my advice is to definitely decrease the sugar and increase the number of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I followed some of the suggestions of others and it may not have been in my best interest. I used natural applesauce instead of oil. I think it made the batter too dense. Not enough air in the final cake product since there was no fat in the batter. I kept the sugar the same but did add the extra brown sugar to the apple mix and that did add a nice touch. I tried cooking it longer on a lower temp and it took forever. I think the final product was much too hard (the cake part). I also made a second cake but with splenda since I cannot eat any sugar that is not natural. What a mistake. Talk about hard - the next day I went to eat it with a cup of coffee and soaked it in a 1/4 cup of pumpkin pie coffee. It was so dense, it hardly absorbed the coffee. This too was made with the natural applesauce and not the oil. I think I would try this recipe again but with the oil. Most said it had a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I have been looking for an apple cake recipe and this one is definitely a keeper! I did not change a thing--made it exactly as stated and it was awesome. I used Golden Delicious and Cortland apples. The cake was definitely sweet, but a nice compliment to the apples and cinnamon. I would not change a thing and will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States