Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Excellent! Used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 1/2. Used peaches instead of apples (double the amount of fruit in either case). Bake for under 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Always a crowd pleaser. I use 2 cups of sugar and more apples - 5 or 6, so it takes about 90 min. to bake. This is a pretty cake as is, but I sometimes drizzle with a simple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
A beautiful, delicious cake, worthy of serving as a fall dessert or a Sunday brunch. On the sweet side, but a beautiful consistency and flavor. I used 3 very large Cortland apples and it was just right. If using small to regular sized apples I would definitely be generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have finally found a great recipe for jewish apple cake. I didn't change a thing and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was a great recipe. It looked bakery perfect, and turned out moist and flavorful. I used an extra apple for added richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Have been making a Jewish Apple Cake for over 20 years and decided to try this one. It was even better than the one I have been asked to bring to parties for many years! The only thing that was missing, which I added was 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup golden raisons. Nuts and raisons are a must for Jewish Apple cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Everyone really enjoyed this one - lots of apple flavor. Thanks! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this cake dozens of times, and it has never failed yet. I did make some personal adjustments. I bake it in a bundt pan and I always use at least 5 or 6 apples, my family loves more apples, and I adjust the cinnamon, family loves cinnamon, and suarg for the extra apples, and I add a least 1/2 cup or more of raisins to the apple mixtureand it doesn't affect the cooking time because the bundt takes a little longer anyway. I also dust it with confectioner's sugar (caster sugar) through a sieve when it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
My husband loves this cake! I added more apples the second time I made it also mixed 2 tbsp. of brown sugar and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts with the apples. Moist and delish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Excellent - moist with a tender outer crust. I added an extra apple and used Golden Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States