Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Fran J.
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I had lost an old recipe for this cake and used this one instead. It's wonderful with an excellent texture. I made one for a friend and she said she was going to put cream cheese frosting on it. I had never frosted this cake in all the years I made it. I tried it on the next one and all I can say is that it tastes like a little bit of heaven! This cake is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Yummy! An excellent apple cake. I baked mine for about 70 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
i liked the idea, and the smell of it baking, but was not pleased with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Perfect cake. Slice apples thinly. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was very good!! I did add more apples as my apples were on the small side, I think I will add even more next time. I threw in some walnuts as others suggested as well. Everyone loved it...It was so delicious it didn't even last the weekend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Always a crowd pleaser. I use 2 cups of sugar and more apples - 5 or 6, so it takes about 90 min. to bake. This is a pretty cake as is, but I sometimes drizzle with a simple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I have made this cake dozens of times, and it has never failed yet. I did make some personal adjustments. I bake it in a bundt pan and I always use at least 5 or 6 apples, my family loves more apples, and I adjust the cinnamon, family loves cinnamon, and suarg for the extra apples, and I add a least 1/2 cup or more of raisins to the apple mixtureand it doesn't affect the cooking time because the bundt takes a little longer anyway. I also dust it with confectioner's sugar (caster sugar) through a sieve when it is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Everyone really enjoyed this one - lots of apple flavor. Thanks! I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have finally found a great recipe for jewish apple cake. I didn't change a thing and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM1960

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Have been making a Jewish Apple Cake for over 20 years and decided to try this one. It was even better than the one I have been asked to bring to parties for many years! The only thing that was missing, which I added was 1/2 cup walnuts and 1/2 cup golden raisons. Nuts and raisons are a must for Jewish Apple cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States