Jewish Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe! I make it for my mother, she absolutely loves it, and anybody that tries it is sure to compliment me on how good it is. I only do a couple of things differently, mostly because I had to- we don't have a tube pan, so I use a bundt pan instead and I alternate the layers of batter and apples so that the apples are all on the inside. It makes for a very moist and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadeet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
perfect the way it is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great recipe for a great cake! Would be a 5 star with a few minor modifications. My cake fell apart when taking out of the pan, and I think it is because of the apple layer in the middle, also the cake was very moist, but lacked a little something. 1st) Alter the directions to cream together the oil, sugar, and eggs. Mix the dry ingredients together then add alternately with the orange juice. 2nd) The batter was a bit too much for my 10inch bundt pan, fits better in a 9x13 cake pan 3rd) Mix a bit of additional cinnamon in with the cake batter 4th) Dice the apples instead of slices, and fold into the batter instead of as a layer in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this for my son-in-law's birthday and it was fantastic! We sprinkled confectioner's sugar and a caramel drizzle over the top and served it with French Vanilla ice cream. We were drooling! I've tried other Jewish Apple Cake recipes and for some reason, this one comes out ahead of the rest for taste, texture and ease. I followed the recipe to a T and did not make any changes and it was so easy. Sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Used applesauce instead of oil... great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Excelent! Used more apples, about 6 small, lessened the sugar by 1/2 cup, cut the oil out and used applesauce, fresh OJ. Made cupcakes and topped with Cream Cheese II from this site. Topped with slivered almonds and cinnamon dusted them. Really pretty and VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This cake was awesome and enjoyed by my entire family! I'm finally making it again. I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately and then together and increased the apples and cinnamon. I originally split the apples into two layers (middle and top), but I will add an extra layer this time. For added flavor, I poured the juices created from the apples, cinnamon, & sugar over the cake before baking. Very delicious and so easy to make, even if a novice baker were to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Super good. The family and neighbors enjoyed it. I used 6 apples, shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
OMG This was so easy to make and smelled delicious cooking in the oven. I added more apples cause I love apples in every bite. I added the apples all over, not just in the middle. Other than that I made it as is...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Really delicious! I added a glaze consisting of confectioner's sugar, orange juice, and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States